Terminal not working

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Ahmed Ashraf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 pm

Terminal not working

Post by Ahmed Ashraf » Tue May 29, 2018 3:27 pm

Code: Select all

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo sh -c "echo 'Dir::Ignore-Files-Silently:: \"(.save|.distupgrade)$\";' > /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/99ignoresave"
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo apt-get update
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo rm '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list'
rm: cannot remove '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list': No such file or directory
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo rm '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list

Code: Select all

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo rm /etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list
rm: cannot remove '/etc/apt/sources.list.d/playonlinux.list': No such file or directory
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo apt-get update
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ clear

Code: Select all

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo apt-get install -f
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo apt-get autoremove
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ sudo apt-get update
E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ 
I do not know what to do can anyone help
Last edited by WharfRat on Tue May 29, 2018 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: Terminal not working

Post by Marziano » Tue May 29, 2018 3:54 pm

Ahmed Ashraf wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:27 pm

E: Type '<!DOCTYPE' is not known on line 3 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list
E: The list of sources could not be read.
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $
Hi Ahmed Ashraf
Please run the following commands in a terminal and post back the output:

Code: Select all

cat  /etc/apt/sources.list
and

Code: Select all

ls /etc/apt/sources.list.d/
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

Ahmed Ashraf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Terminal not working

Post by Ahmed Ashraf » Tue May 29, 2018 3:54 pm

Code: Select all

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ cat  /etc/apt/sources.lis
cat: /etc/apt/sources.lis: No such file or directory
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ ls /etc/apt/sources.list.d/
apt-fast-stable-xenial.list     official-package-repositories.list
gnome3-team-gnome3-xenial.list  official-source-repositories.list
linrunner-tlp-xenial.list       snwh-pulp-xenial.list
numix-ppa-xenial.list           ubuntuhandbook1-apps-xenial.list
Last edited by WharfRat on Tue May 29, 2018 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: Terminal not working

Post by Marziano » Tue May 29, 2018 3:56 pm

Ahmed Ashraf wrote:
Tue May 29, 2018 3:54 pm
savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ cat /etc/apt/sources.lis
cat: /etc/apt/sources.lis: No such file or directory
Please correct the typo lis >> list
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

Ahmed Ashraf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Terminal not working

Post by Ahmed Ashraf » Tue May 29, 2018 3:59 pm

Code: Select all

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $  cat /etc/apt/sources.list


<!DOCTYPE html>

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head><meta charset="utf-8" /><title>
	Quota Redirection
</title><meta name="description" /><meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=edge" /><meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width" /><link rel="shortcut icon" href="ResponsiveResources/favicon.ico" />
    <!-- Place favicon.ico and apple-touch-icon.png in the root directory-->
    <link href="ResponsiveResources/file/css/bootstrap.css" rel="stylesheet" /><link rel="stylesheet" href="ResponsiveResources/file/css/fonts__.css" /><link rel="stylesheet" href="ResponsiveResources/file/css/vendor.css" /><link rel="stylesheet" href="ResponsiveResources/file/css/main.css" /><link rel="stylesheet" href="ResponsiveResources/file/css/main__.css" /><link rel="stylesheet" href="ResponsiveResources/file/css/mystyle.css" />


    <!--[if lte IE 8]>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="styles/ie8-styles.css" />
    <![endif]-->
    <!--[if lte IE 9]>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="styles/ie9-styles.css" />
    <![endif]-->

    <!--[if lte IE 8]>
    <script src="scripts/ie8js.js"></script>
    <![endif]-->
    <!-- HTML5 shim and Respond.js for IE8 support of HTML5 elements and media queries -->
    <!--[if lt IE 9]>
      <script src="https://oss.maxcdn.com/html5shiv/3.7.2/html5shiv.min.js"></script>
      <script src="https://oss.maxcdn.com/respond/1.4.2/respond.min.js"></script>
    <![endif]-->
    <style>
        .l-ltr .dropdown.-start900 .dropdown__content {
            left: -600px !important;
        }

        .l-rtl .dropdown.-start900 .dropdown__content {
            right: -900px !important;
        }

        .l-ltr .dropdown.-start930 .dropdown__content {
            left: -725px!important;
        }

        .l-ltr .dropdown.-start320 .dropdown__content {
            left: -460px!important;
        }

        .l-ltr .dropdown.-start1050 .dropdown__content {
            left: -1030px !important;
        }

        .l-ltr .dropdown.-start900 .dropdown__content {
            left: -280px !important;
        }

        body {
            background-color: #f6f6f6 !important;
        }
    </style>
    
</head>
<body class="theme-default main-page">
   <!-- Google Tag Manager -->
<noscript><iframe src="//www.googletagmanager.com/ns.html?id=GTM-WDKK63"
height="0" width="0" style="display:none;visibility:hidden"></iframe></noscript>
<script>(function (w, d, s, l, i) {
w[l] = w[l] || []; w[l].push({
'gtm.start':
new Date().getTime(), event: 'gtm.js'
}); var f = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],
j = d.createElement(s), dl = l != 'dataLayer' ? '&l=' + l : ''; j.async = true; j.src =
'//www.googletagmanager.com/gtm.js?id=' + i + dl; f.parentNode.insertBefore(j, f);
})(window, document, 'script', 'dataLayer', 'GTM-WDKK63');</script>
<!-- End Google Tag Manager --><!-- End Google Tag Manager -->


    <!-- Google analytics code -->
    <form name="aspnetForm" method="post" action="./Megaplus-QuotaRedirection100-2Mbps.aspx" id="aspnetForm">
<input type="hidden" name="__VIEWSTATE" id="__VIEWSTATE" value="/wEPDwUKLTYwNTA4MzQ4Mg8WAh4LUmVtb3ZlZEZsYWdoZBgBBSRjdGwwMCRDb250ZW50UGxhY2VIb2xkZXIxJG12X01lc3NhZ2UPD2RmZKNFK/yp9fkvdCTQGqyCbXbl4bf6" />

<input type="hidden" name="__VIEWSTATEGENERATOR" id="__VIEWSTATEGENERATOR" value="3989FE14" />
<input type="hidden" name="__EVENTVALIDATION" id="__EVENTVALIDATION" value="/wEdAAlHk0f1nwwdd8UGwiuhq6EXugrkjDMYOIv+D5t6z/rUpMb3H6mJJObV7PSnqas7RTt5lvQVwArJgY15MO7CF8midmU8T1tj7FmM+ZOA5tRY2fIQ3+QTS5dxY8okCsmmVmH+FknY/SGTvAYEBUxTmy4T+jpo0/d7cU6wmn4aJfVysd4UuJTRA1/D4/d4HzOoOyt5RuLw878SVpWBjtt1xtqDqWBcRA==" />


        <!--MAIN Header here-->
        <header class="header" style="">
            <div class="header__top container-half--ver--half">
                <div class="one-one align-center clearfix">

                    <div class="align-op-default col-sm-12">

                        <a href="https://www.te.eg" class="header__logo inline-block text-middle col-sm-visible">
                            <img src="ResponsiveResources/images/svgfallback/logo.png" class="header__logo__img" /></a>

                    </div>
                </div>
            </div>
            <div class="header__main col-sm-hide">
                <div class="one-one align-center clearfix">
                    <div class="l-table l-full">
                        <div class="l-table-cell text-middle">
                            <a href="https://www.te.eg" class="header__logo inline-block text-middle">
                                <img src="ResponsiveResources/images/svgfallback/logo.png" class="header__logo__img" />
                            </a>

                        </div>

                    </div>
                </div>
            </div>
        </header>
        
      <!--Message starts hereeee---->
        <!--<div class="container-fluid">-->
        <div class="container">

            <!--<div class="row">
<div class="col col-lg-12 header_re">
     <img src="VDSL/images/logo.png">
</div>
    </div>-->

            <div class="row">
                <div class="col col-lg-12 banner">
     <img class="img-responsive" src="ResponsiveResources/images/MegaPlusbanner.png">
 </div>
            </div>

            
                <div class="row">
                    <div class="col col-lg-12">
                        <img src="ResponsiveResources/images/User_quota_100.png" class="img-responsive quota_N">
                        <p class="text-center" style="margin: 10px 0px 10px 0px;">You have consumed 100% of your monthly basic quota</p>
                    </div>
                </div>


                    <div class="row" style="min-height: 82px; margin-top: 10px;">

                        <div class="col col-lg-6 col-md-6 col-sm-12 col-xs-12 border_col" style="overflow-wrap: break-word;">
                            <p>
                            Dear Customer,<br />
                                    <br />
                                    <br />
                                    Kindly note that you have consumed 100% of your monthly basic quota but you can continue using the internet with unlimited speed 2 Mbps till your renewal date.<br>
                                    Or you can buy extra gigs and resume your original speed through the following channels.<br>
                                <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_lb_en_recharge" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$lb_en_recharge&#39;,&#39;&#39;)">
                       <span class="item_spann_E">&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;www.te.eg</span></a>

                            <br />
                            <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_lb_en_cso" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$lb_en_cso&#39;,&#39;&#39;)"><span class="item_spann_E">&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;Telecom Egypt branches</span></a><br />
                        
                                 <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_lb_en_fawry" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$lb_en_fawry&#39;,&#39;&#39;)"><span class="item_spann_E">&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;Fawry machines</span></a><br />
                        

                                At any time you can manage your ADSL account on mytedata.net                    
                            </p>
                        </div>


                        <div class="col col-lg-6 col-md-6 col-sm-12 col-xs-12" style="overflow-wrap: break-word;">
                             <p class="txt_ar">
                          عميلنا العزيز,<br />
                                    <br />
                                    <br />
                                    برجاء العلم انه تم استنفاذ 100% من باقتك الاساسية ويمكنك مواصلة الاستخدام بسرعة 2 ميجابايت غير محدودة حتى ميعاد التجديد.
 

                                    <br>
                                    <br>
                                    او يمكنك استعادة سرعتك الاصلية بواسطة شراء سعة تحميل اضافية عن طريق :<br />
                                <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_lb_ar_recharge" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$lb_ar_recharge&#39;,&#39;&#39;)">
                        <span class="item_spann" style="font-family: Roboto;">&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;www.te.eg</span>
                                </a>
                                <br />
                                <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_lb_ar_cso" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$lb_ar_cso&#39;,&#39;&#39;)"><span class="item_spann">&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;فروع أو أحد موزعينا المعتمدين</span></a><br />
                            
                               <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_lb_Fawry" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$lb_Fawry&#39;,&#39;&#39;)"><span class="item_spann">&bull;&nbsp;&nbsp;ماكينات فوري</span></a><br />

                                و لمتابعة استخدامك بشكل دوري برجاء تسجيل بياناتك عن طريق 
           
                    <span style="font-family: Roboto;">mytedata.net</span><br />

                            </p>
                        </div>

                    </div>
                
            <br />

            <!--Action Button here-->
            <div class="block__body text-center">

                <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_btn_Confirm" class="btn submit text-height-double two-ninths edit_btn margin__20" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$btn_Confirm&#39;,&#39;&#39;)">
                Continue<br />
                <span class="txt_ar" style="font-size: 12px;">استمرار</span>
                </a>


                

                <a id="ctl00_ContentPlaceHolder1_btn_recharge" class="btn submit text-height-double two-ninths edit_btn" href="javascript:__doPostBack(&#39;ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$btn_recharge&#39;,&#39;&#39;)">
                Online Recharge<br />
                <span class="txt_ar" style="font-size: 12px;">إعادة شحن الرصيد</span>
                </a>


                

                <br />
                <br />
                <!--Valdation error message---------------------->
                <span class="error" id="contactIdentification-error"></span>
                <!--Valdation error message ends here---------------------->


            </div>

        </div>

        <!--Footer starts Hereeeee -->

        <footer class="footer container-double--ver clearfix">
            <div class="copyrights">
                <p style="padding-left: 70px; padding-right: 70px; font-size: 14px; text-align: left;" class="footer__list__link">
                    For all mobile, internet and fixed line users: in case you are unable to
    solve any problem you have encountered with your service provider,
    kindly dial 155 to call the National Telecom Regulatory Authority
    (NTRA) customer service call center and submit your complaint. This
    number works seven days a week, from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
                </p>
                <p class="footer__list__link" style="text-align: center;">
                    Copyright
        © 2017 Telecom Egypt. All Rights Reserved.
                </p>


                <div class="clearfix"></div>
                <!--Social Icons and copyrights ends here-->
            </div>


        </footer>

        <!--</footer>-->





        <!--</div>container-fluied END-->

        <script src="ResponsiveResources/file/components/js/jquery.js"></script>
        <script src="ResponsiveResources/file/js/bootstrap.js"></script>
        <script src="ResponsiveResources/file/js/myscript.js"></script>
    </form>
</body>
</html>
savio@Ahmed

savio@Ahmed-Ashraf ~ $ ls /etc/apt/sources.list.d/
apt-fast-stable-xenial.list     official-package-repositories.list
gnome3-team-gnome3-xenial.list  official-source-repositories.list
linrunner-tlp-xenial.list       snwh-pulp-xenial.list
numix-ppa-xenial.list           ubuntuhandbook1-apps-xenial.list
Last edited by WharfRat on Tue May 29, 2018 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11373
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Terminal not working

Post by WharfRat » Tue May 29, 2018 4:19 pm

The file sources.list is used for a cd rom containing application packages and the line is commented out.

For the time being open that file and paste #deb cdrom:[Linux Mint 18 _Sarah_ - Release amd64 20160628]/ xenial contrib main non-free in it or use

echo "#deb cdrom:[Linux Mint 18 _Sarah_ - Release amd64 20160628]/ xenial contrib main non-free"|sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list to overwrite it.
ImageImage

Ahmed Ashraf
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Terminal not working

Post by Ahmed Ashraf » Tue May 29, 2018 4:23 pm

Thank you very much it worked

User avatar
karlchen
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8951
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Terminal not working

Post by karlchen » Tue May 29, 2018 5:38 pm

Hi, Ahmed.

May I remark that the title of your thread "terminal not working" is pretty misleading?
Your terminal works absolutely correctly.
From the very start it was obvious that the real problem was "sources list file /etc/apt/sources.list holds incorrect content".
I wonder a bit how a whole webpage managed to replace the original content of the sources list file /etc/apt/sources.list?

By the way, you might like to mark your thread as [solved] now. (Cf. [SOLVED] How to label a topic as SOLVED?)

Best regards,
Karl
Image
Old bugs good, new bugs bad! Updates are evil: might fix old bugs and introduce no new ones.

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”