LM 19 cant find network |solved|

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
LennartL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:04 pm

LM 19 cant find network |solved|

Post by LennartL » Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:59 am

Why cant LinuxMint 19 Mate find "network" when I am in Caja??
Last edited by LennartL on Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9149
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by altair4 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:44 am

You are going to have to explain that one.

Can't find network as in you cannot connect to your router type of network?

Or can't find network as in "Browse Network" results in an empty page?

It it's the latter edit /etc/samba/smb.conf and right under the workgroup = WORKGROUP line add this one:

Code: Select all

client max protocol = NT1
This will set it back to where it was in Mint18. But there are consequences to this: Mint 19 and Samba File Sharing Changes
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

LennartL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by LennartL » Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:45 am

It is the same problem I had ones before in LM 17.
As you said" Or can't find network as in "Browse Network" results in an empty page?"
Not exactly. But I get a sign that says that "Caja cant find Network" " Caja can not handle "Network Places."

LennartL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by LennartL » Sat Jul 07, 2018 10:40 am

I can see My computer from my wife,s computer and the maps I have shared.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9149
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by altair4 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 3:02 pm

Caja can not handle "Network Places."
Sounds like a missing package:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install gvfs-backends
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

LennartL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by LennartL » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:21 pm

Thanks!
Now i can see the network.
BUT I cant see my wifes computer. :oops:
But she can see my computer.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9149
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by altair4 » Sun Jul 08, 2018 2:30 pm

What operating system is on the wife's machine? And if it's Mint what version?
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

LennartL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by LennartL » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:02 am

It is LinuxMint 18.2 Mate Sonya

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9149
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by altair4 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:24 am

On your wife's Mint 18 computer:

** Create a file:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/avahi/services/samba.service
** Add this to it:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" standalone='no'?>
<!DOCTYPE service-group SYSTEM "avahi-service.dtd">
<service-group>
   <name replace-wildcards="yes">%h SMB</name> ## Display Name
   <service>
       <type>_smb._tcp</type>
       <port>445</port>
   </service>
</service-group>
** Save the file.
** Not really necessary but just in case restart avahi:

Code: Select all

sudo service avahi-daemon restart
From your Mint19 machine it will show up as hostname SMB where hostname is the host name of your wife's machine.

Note: Using a different method but still using avahi your Mint 19 machine does this samba.service thing ( but without the SMB suffix ) by default thanks to Ubuntu.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

LennartL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 5:04 pm

Re: LM 19 cant find network

Post by LennartL » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:27 am

Thank,s you are an angel!
Now its working
:D

joyang90
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:18 pm

Re: LM 19 cant find network |solved|

Post by joyang90 » Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:28 am

Oh there's a solution! Thanks I thought I'm the only who experience this.

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”