Power Management - What is keeping my computer awake?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
heinhuiz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:25 am

Power Management - What is keeping my computer awake?

Post by heinhuiz » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:33 am

Hi there, I'm looking for some help.

I'm using Cinnamon on Mint 19, although my problem started earlier, on 18.3 (which is why I upgraded to 19 in the first place).

I used to have my screens (I'm on a two monitor system) to turn off and eventually the computer to suspend using Power Management. Since a few weeks, just after the screens turn off at the scheduled inactive time, within 3-5 seconds they turn on again, with all content from the secondary monitor moved to the primary screen. Obviously, the computer will not suspend either.

After upgrading to Mint 19 the problem is still there. On top of that, probably for the same reason, TLP does not turn off the screens nor lets it the computer go to sleep.

What I've done so far:
  • Made sure wakeup for all devices is disabled;
  • Closed all programs;
  • Checked with system monitor that no process is using CPU;
  • Wondered what else to do.
*) Only when the screens turn on again, process 'cinnamon' briefly uses 1% CPU. All other processes stay at 0%.

Any ideas? What can I check next?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7755
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Power Management - What is keeping my computer awake?

Post by catweazel » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:52 am

heinhuiz wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:33 am
  • Made sure wakeup for all devices is disabled;
Have you verified that wake on lan is not enabled in the BIOS?
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

heinhuiz
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Power Management - What is keeping my computer awake?

Post by heinhuiz » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:08 am

Yep. I've even disconnected the LAN cable to check if that would help.
And at this stage the computer is still awake, it is only the displays that have to be turned off. Like I said they do, but only for a few seconds.

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”