Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
MaoMao2
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:55 am

Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Post by MaoMao2 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:48 am

Hello to all.
Thank you for your work!

Towards/near the end of the year 2017 I had read in ur blog that the KDE version of Linux mint 19 would be released much later.
(no prob for this, just in waiting mode because for now i use 18.3 KDE in USB "persistent")

First question = U can to tell me (approximately) the date of release of the KDE version for Linux Mint 19?

Second question = (only for info) with this command:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install kubuntu-desktop kde-plasma-desktop kscreen
I will turn the v19 (Mate or Chinnamon) into the full KDE OR i will have only the KDE Desktop?
I ask this because i don't like Chinnamon, much of my software work only in KDE and no in chinnamon..
(never tested the MATE)

Thank you so much for everything!!!!!!!!!

User avatar
catweazel
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7774
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Post by catweazel » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:54 am

MaoMao2 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:48 am
First question = U can to tell me (approximately) the date of release of the KDE version for Linux Mint 19?
There will be no more Mint KDE. If you want to roll your own Mint KDE, see this: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=267121#p1453646
¡uʍop ǝpısdn sı buıɥʇʎɹǝʌǝ os ɐıןɐɹʇsnɐ ɯoɹɟ ɯ,ı

User avatar
MaoMao2
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Post by MaoMao2 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:07 am

I see, sad for me this.
Tyvm for ur repy i will read ur link.
TY..

Edit:
Ok, pheraps for me now is better to stay in v18.3 KDE, when we will have a secure command for change all in KDE i will download the v19.
TYVM

percycarte
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:40 pm

Re: Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Post by percycarte » Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:51 pm

I do like KDE and settled on Cinnamon. However the files for running a KDE session are still all available. I used synaptic to install kde-full and kubuntu which seemed to provide all that I needed. Then when you login there is a little symbol in the topright login window, right-click and KDE plasma will be one of the options which you then can choose. There you are KDE. Might need a bit of tweaking with other installs but you get the picture.
PC

User avatar
MtnDewManiac
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1411
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:18 pm
Location: United States

Re: Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Post by MtnDewManiac » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:09 am

MaoMao2 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:48 am
much of my software work only in KDE and no in chinnamon..
I do not understand the above statement. I have been operating under the impression that any (linux-native) application will work under any of the available desktop environments as long as one has the correct toolkit (Qt in this case) installed. And, as far as I know, the first time the user attempts to install something that does require a different toolkit, Synaptic Package Manager (et cetera) will take care of that requirement by installing it at that time.

Am I mistaken?

Regards,
MDM
Mint 18 Xfce 4.12.

If guns kill people, then pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk, and spoons made Rosie O'Donnell fat.

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4456
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Info about Linux Mint 19 KDE

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:51 am

MtnDewManiac wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:09 am
MaoMao2 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:48 am
much of my software work only in KDE and no in chinnamon..
I do not understand the above statement. I have been operating under the impression that any (linux-native) application will work under any of the available desktop environments as long as one has the correct toolkit (Qt in this case) installed. And, as far as I know, the first time the user attempts to install something that does require a different toolkit, Synaptic Package Manager (et cetera) will take care of that requirement by installing it at that time.

Am I mistaken?

Regards,
MDM
Actually it's not all that unusual for KDE programs to work a lot worse in non KDE DEs. The only issue I ever had was with Okular only working properly in KDE, which was a pain since it's the only Linux pdf reader I know of that doesn't stink. It's not just the Qt libraries, it's the integration with the DE as well.

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”