Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it [SOLVED]

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it [SOLVED]

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 2:49 pm

Hello,
I don't know the cause of this problem. Let me explain.
My website is "site.ir". I've been using Windows before I remove it completely and install only Linux Mint.
"site.ir" were loaded completely in Windows without any problem, but after migrating to Mint, I can't load "site.ir" at all.
My internet connection is the same (I use smartphone hotspot), and I can completely load "site.ir" in my smartphone. But I don't know why it does not load in Mint.
This is not only "site.ir", but also some other sites.

I mainly and only use Chrome. I've just tested Firefox that I either did not load the site.

Whenever I face this problem, I load any site in my smartphone.

I've done sudo apt-get update more than 100 times! Google Chrome is updated and I'm always using the latest version.
It's really driving me crazy.

I know if I tell, you may it's my internet connection's problem, but in fact it's not! When I use Cisco or any VPN, some sites load (including site.ir), but still some other sites do not load (including whmcs.community).

Linux Mint version is the latest, 18.3, Cinnamon.

Would you please help me?
What should I do? What can I do?

Solution: Disable IPV6 in Network settings, then try again.
Thanks @administrollaattori
Last edited by Inna on Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:16 pm, edited 3 times in total.

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:01 pm

Can you be a little more specific? What exactly do you mean by "the site won't load"? I also use Chrome almost exclusively on my Mint/Win10 system (rarely in Win10, but a necessary evil) and I've yet to come across a website that was affected like this. I will say that some multimedia sites, like FoxSportsGo and HBOGO, will not open a stream in Linux, at least not on my machine.
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-39-generic, GeForce GTX 960 w/Nvidia 410.73]
Image

Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:16 pm

Hello,
The site cannot be reached.
That's the error.
Even when I try to log-in to my office's webmail, it also cannot be reached.
But I can open any website without using proxy in my mobile.

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:19 pm

Have you tried another browser?
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-39-generic, GeForce GTX 960 w/Nvidia 410.73]
Image

Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:20 pm

Yes, Firefox. But it did not again load.

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:23 pm

"site.ir"? Is that really the site name? My DNS server can't resolve that name; not on my Android phone either.
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-39-generic, GeForce GTX 960 w/Nvidia 410.73]
Image

gm10
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4180
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by gm10 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:43 pm

Something is wrong with the DNS records for that site, nslookup only returns an MX record:

Code: Select all

> site.ir
Server:		ns.site.ir
Address:	91.98.96.201#53

site.ir	mail exchanger = 10 mail.site.ir.
site.ir
	origin = ns.site.ir
	mail addr = info.site.ir
	serial = 1488966349
	refresh = 10800
	retry = 3600
	expire = 604800
	minimum = 10800
site.ir	nameserver = ns.site.ir.
getting an A record for a subdomain though:

Code: Select all

Name:	mail.site.ir
Address: 91.98.96.201
I don't know why it would work in windows, maybe you're using a different DNS host that has an older record cached, maybe you've got the site in your hosts file.

Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:23 pm

Hello,

Thanks, but surely site.ir was an example! You've thought it's really my website?

Sorry for this.

The websites I really use and I have problems are (these are some of the sites, as some other sites I may reach them while Googling):
https://whmcs.community/
This site is where I try to find my questions about WHMCS, and every time I need this site, it can't be reached. So I have to open Chrome in my mobile to see the content of this site and related pages.
I can't recall any other sites at the moment.

Also I had used this site or some other sites completely in Windows without any problems, and they loaded fully.

Should I change anything in my OS? Like DNS or like this?

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:34 pm

Opens immediately on my Mint 19 XFCE system with Chrome.

Can you ping the site? What does nslookup show?
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-39-generic, GeForce GTX 960 w/Nvidia 410.73]
Image

gm10
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4180
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by gm10 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:36 pm

That one resolves fine for me. Try

Code: Select all

nslookup whmcs.community
and see what the response is. If you get an error resolving it then try:

Code: Select all

nslookup whmcs.community 8.8.8.8 
Post responses.

Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:48 pm

Hello,

Thank you both.

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ nslookup whmcs.community
Server:		127.0.1.1
Address:	127.0.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	whmcs.community
Address: 18.221.180.122
Name:	whmcs.community
Address: 18.219.62.23

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ nslookup whmcs.community 8.8.8.8
Server:		8.8.8.8
Address:	8.8.8.8#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	whmcs.community
Address: 18.219.62.23
Name:	whmcs.community
Address: 18.221.180.122

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ ping 18.219.62.23 -c 4
PING 18.219.62.23 (18.219.62.23) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 18.219.62.23 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 3052ms
These are the results.

Also I just tried to upload a photo to http://up.vbiran.ir
But this site did not load for me! While http://vbiran.ir runs fully, and up.vbiran.ir is this site's upload center where when I had Windows, I uploaded lots of pictures and files there!

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ ping up.vbiran.ir -c4
PING up.vbiran.ir (79.127.127.81) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from hosted-by.hostdl.com.asiatech.ir (79.127.127.81): icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=103 ms
64 bytes from hosted-by.hostdl.com.asiatech.ir (79.127.127.81): icmp_seq=2 ttl=52 time=49.8 ms
64 bytes from hosted-by.hostdl.com.asiatech.ir (79.127.127.81): icmp_seq=3 ttl=52 time=59.1 ms
64 bytes from hosted-by.hostdl.com.asiatech.ir (79.127.127.81): icmp_seq=4 ttl=52 time=49.2 ms

--- up.vbiran.ir ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3003ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 49.265/65.492/103.696/22.402 ms

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ nslookup up.vbiran.ir
Server:		127.0.1.1
Address:	127.0.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	up.vbiran.ir
Address: 79.127.127.81

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ nslookup up.vbiran.ir 8.8.8.8
Server:		8.8.8.8
Address:	8.8.8.8#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	up.vbiran.ir
Address: 79.127.127.81

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ ping vbiran.ir -c 4
PING vbiran.ir (104.28.6.111) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 104.28.6.111: icmp_seq=1 ttl=49 time=293 ms
64 bytes from 104.28.6.111: icmp_seq=2 ttl=49 time=511 ms
64 bytes from 104.28.6.111: icmp_seq=3 ttl=49 time=228 ms
64 bytes from 104.28.6.111: icmp_seq=4 ttl=49 time=252 ms

--- vbiran.ir ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3112ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 228.096/321.321/511.917/112.468 ms

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ nslookup vbiran.ir
Server:		127.0.1.1
Address:	127.0.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	vbiran.ir
Address: 104.28.6.111
Name:	vbiran.ir
Address: 104.28.7.111

Code: Select all

saeed@inna ~ $ nslookup vbiran.ir 8.8.8.8
Server:		8.8.8.8
Address:	8.8.8.8#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	vbiran.ir
Address: 104.28.6.111
Name:	vbiran.ir
Address: 104.28.7.111
I really don't know why

Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:50 pm

This is the picture I forgot to attach, as I wanted to upload in http://up.vbiran.ir
Attachments
Screenshot from 2018-07-14 01-08-27.png

ajgringo619
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by ajgringo619 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:56 pm

Again, both sites work for me; not sure where to to go next.
[Mint 19 XFCE, AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM, 4.15.0-39-generic, GeForce GTX 960 w/Nvidia 410.73]
Image

Inna
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:14 pm
Location: Iran

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Inna » Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:59 pm

I know all of the mentioned sites work. But I don't know why they don't work for me just in Linux Mint.

These sites with the same internet connection worked in both Windows 10 and my smartphone (which I created hotspot to use Data mobile), but I really don't know why they don't load.

Would you please install AnyDesk and check this in my Laptop?

You may know some commands that I don't know.

gm10
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4180
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by gm10 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:22 pm

ok, so we know the site resolves correctly for you, you can ping it, but your browser cannot access it. Try wget whmcs.community. If that successfully saves the index.html then I don't know, something must be blocking it in the browser. Extension?
Last edited by gm10 on Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Neil Edmond
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 893
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Neil Edmond » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:25 pm

Boot a live Linux Mint. If those sites work OK with Firefox in the live environment that means there is something configured wrong in your installation. Another thing to do would be create a new user account and see if things are the same there.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3146
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by JerryF » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:59 pm

Inna wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:23 pm
Hello,

Thanks, but surely site.ir was an example!
No, not that obvious. First, you had site.ir in quotation marks. By default, it would mean that site.ir is the name of the website.
Inna wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:23 pm
You've thought it's really my website?
Many newbies on the forum don't know how to use the link tags, so we would assume that you didn't know how to use the tags.

Have you tried turning off Firewall temporarily to see if that makes a difference?
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6203
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by Flemur » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:53 pm

Inna wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:23 pm
Thanks, but surely site.ir was an example! You've thought it's really my website?
My website is "site.ir".

Code: Select all

$ whois site.ir
domain:		site.ir
ascii:		site.ir
remarks:	(Domain Holder) AbdlHamid Bagheri
remarks:	(Domain Holder Address) Shariati St
Works OK here. Maybe you should try the standard tests/fixes of empty cache, no addons and new profile.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1159
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by lsemmens » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:06 pm

Is it not something as simple as a firewall? Turn off your firewall if you are using one?
Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop T4500 Dualcore 4Gb RAM
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Linux Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2418
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Mint 18.3 does not load some sites while Win did it

Post by trytip » Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:12 am

delete your history completely in chrome. be sure to select advanced and select all time. keep site content settings if you block cookies by default and have exceptions. also sometimes dns needs to be flushed restart your router
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”