Install_English_Menus_(non US) SOLVED

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Gee7

Install_English_Menus_(non US) SOLVED

Post by Gee7 »

Hello
US English is a rich language but being born and bred in England, I should like my menus to be in British English. I suppose people from Australia, India, Ireland, the Philippines and other countries would prefer to use their natural spelling and syntax too.

The words "Center" and "Favorites" are not international computerese, they are just 2 words used by speakers of American English, yet since Bill Gates and his team first introduced computers with a GUI and Menus, regional speakers of English all over the world have been forced to use the American dialect words. I first started using computers as a complete novice in November 2001 and I was surprised to see my menus in American English, since then I have been waiting patiently for an update for 8 years. Some people might say that I have been too patient, and yes, I have to admit, often I am one of the silent herd who doesn't speak out when he/she should. I have noted that many teenagers now write "Sports Center" and "Job Center" etc because they have grown up with Microsoft menus and ideas.

For a skilled programmer, it should be only 5 or 10 minutes work to access the code and update the spelling. Could LinuxMint be the first operating system in the world to really use English (UK)? Please, someone from the Mint programming team, could you give us our language back?

My own skills are limited but if support on this is not available at this time, could anyone direct me on how and where to access the operating system code, and if it's possible to make corrections to the LinuxMint Menu via the terminal? I need to see Control Centre and Favourites when I log in to my favourite O/S.