[SOLVED] Can I have some help writing a recursive move command involving files with the same name

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SilverCookieDust
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Can I have some help writing a recursive move command involving files with the same name

Post by SilverCookieDust »

(Hi, newbie here [former Windows user]. Sincere apologies if this is the wrong forum.)

I have a folder on my desktop named "Archive", which contains some txt files and a couple of dozen subfolders, each of which have one or two subfolders and millions of txt files between them. I would like to move all the txt files into "Archive". Some of the txt files have the same name, but may or may not have different contents, and I want to keep all of them so when conflicts occur during the move they'll need to be renamed, preferably without it asking me every single time. (Or, failing that, a command that skips moving any files that have the same name as a file already in "Archive", and I'll run a second command after to move them into a different folder.)

I know I can use mv *.txt for this, but I'm not sure what else to put. I know -r is for recursive stuff, but I heard it doesn't work with mv? Also, if I'm running the command line from the "Archive" folder, do I put /Archive as the destination or do I need to specify /Desktop/Archive? (Or have I got it completely wrong and it's something else entirely?)

Solved using rene's code:

Code: Select all

find -mindepth 2 -name "*.txt" -exec mv --backup=numbered -v \{} . \;
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20