[SOLVED] Theme Change While VPN Connected?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
DVScuba
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Theme Change While VPN Connected?

Post by DVScuba »

I've been searching for a while but no hits on this idea. I couldn't even get a response in the chat room...

I'm looking for a highly visible indication that my OpenVPN is connected. ie. A red coloured panel, different desktop background, alternate coloured browser frame, blinking network icon etc... or something like that. Just something to let me know my work VPN is still connected so I don't accidentally hit an NSFW site while on the VPN.

Is there anything readily available for this or will I need to write some custom code or something? I'm NOT a coder by any means. :mrgreen:

LM 19.1 Cinn 64-bit

Thanks,

DV
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
redlined

Re: Theme Change While VPN Connected?

Post by redlined »

hi DV!

Since you mention being on Cinnamon I'll recommend VPN LookOut applet (available from Mint menu> Applets) and featured here:
https://cinnamon-spices.linuxmint.com/applets/view/305

It is not as extreme as changing color of panel or desktop background, however it is a pretty big icon sitting in systray with a nice big Green color ofr VPN up and Red for down. It can also be configured to do many things VPN related, like auto-reconnect, beep and flash when it goes down, start, stop, restart VPN related apps (customizing here may get you ways to work in desktop background changes, etc).