Put my hdb on My Computer?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Put my hdb on My Computer?

Postby Zepinto » Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:58 am

I have a second HD formated on FAT32 plugged in.
When i installed Ubuntu, it was automatically recognized and all i had to do was mount it. and there it was, inside "My Computer". It didn't happen with Mint, so i entered by myself
/dev/hdb /media/hdb vfat iocharset=utf8,umask=000 0 0

on fstab.
But it isn't iside "My Compute" now... How can i put an icon to it in there?
Ty!
Daniel

User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby Sorensei » Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:13 am

I cannot check at the moment - I'm not at home - but I think Feisty and all distros based on it now identify even IDE disks as sda/b/etc.

Might be why it doesn't work... have you checked how your primary disk appears in fstab?
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.

Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Postby Zepinto » Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:40 am

well, it IS mounted, and working just fine.... so i think it is hdb on fstab....
I use exactly that line u saw up there....
What I cant do is putting an icon of it into "My Computer", like my CD drives or the filesystem.....
Ty!
Daniel.

Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Postby Zepinto » Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:00 am

Zepinto wrote:well, it IS mounted, and working just fine.... so i think it is hdb on fstab....
I use exactly that line u saw up there....
What I cant do is putting an icon of it into "My Computer", like my CD drives or the filesystem.....
Ty!
Daniel.



One more thing, how can i remove the icons for "My Computer" and "Home" from desktop?!
Ty!
Daniel.

cogDis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:17 pm

Postby cogDis » Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:53 pm

mintDesktop (System Preferences) should solve both of your issues.

CD

Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Postby Zepinto » Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:18 pm

cogDis wrote:mintDesktop (System Preferences) should solve both of your issues.

CD


^^
Solved the desktop one!!!
Ty!
Daniel.


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests