upgrading from Bianca to Cassandra questions

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
civint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:56 am
Location: A long time ago, yet somehow in the future...

upgrading from Bianca to Cassandra questions

Postby civint » Sun Jun 03, 2007 1:58 pm

I intend to upgrade my bianca install to the cassandra install...How much different will it be, than if i just made a fresh install of cassandra?

I have upgraded from ubuntu 6.10 to 7.04, which I did using their tool, however, that was with a clean system to start with (after a fresh install of 6.10), how different will it be in mint, with a used and customised system?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:04 pm

You will of course not get the freshness of a new install. Some applications may not be upgraded or half way upgraded, but you will have a system that's working as it should.
This is said without experience - I opted for a fresh install especially as I had home on a separate partition - worked like a charm
And as Clem states and I repeat in the stickys it will use a lot of bandwidth and skill.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
civint
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 8:56 am
Location: A long time ago, yet somehow in the future...

Postby civint » Sun Jun 03, 2007 3:26 pm

yeah, I reckon a fresh install will be better...with the old apttocd, which worked well.

Should it take 4 hours to download the cd image (on a 100 Mb/s connection)?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:20 pm

As you know download speed depends on so much more than your nominal connection speed.
First you have whatever you have only to the first router/switch at your ISP - then you share it with others.
If you really get 100mbps all the way it should take about a minute (700x8/100 seconds) but you are never alone :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests