Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too. [SOLVED]

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
aehjr1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:14 am

Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too. [SOLVED]

Post by aehjr1 »

I hope this is the right forum. I've been having some goofy issues with screen resolution changing from 1280x800 back to 1024x768--leaving a blank strip on each side of the monitor (see here). Sometimes gnome-display-properties cannot detect the monitor right away, does not show choice of 1280x800 and icon states monitor is unknown; I would reboot (felt like Windows). I did some research, set my xorg.conf file as in link above and prayed. On some boots it works correctly, on others I would still get the old 1024x768 res, but twice got full screen BUT about two inches on the right side of screen would be "dead"; I couldn't move cursor into it or down to the panel either.

OTOH, I finally got the sound "turned up" to almost normal Windows volume after learning various ALSA commands.

But today took the cake! I booted as normal, a full-sized Mint login screen with login sound effects, followed by a reduced-size 1024x768 desktop after login. I went to gnome-display-properties and waited until it recognized the monitor and changed resolution, then went about my work. It wasn't till much later that I noticed the sound wasn't working at all.

I executed "alsamixer -c0" but found all was turned up, found out the scroll wheel on the laptop didn't display on the screen as normal, gave up and started doing the usual Windows reboot till everything starts working right. Finally--and I don't know why--the sound started working, although gnome-display-properties blew away my 1280x800 changes to the xorg.conf file. More research on the net found little concrete as most (all?) were specific to KDE or a different video or sound card.

So here's my question, gurus, and I hope you can help or point me in the right direction. What the heck do I have to do get the video correct (1280x800 and 16:10 ratio) and KEEP it? What the heck happened to my sound today? Do I need to do something "fancier" in xorg.conf or is something else controlling screen resolution?

My xorg.conf looks like this:

Code: Select all

Section "Device"
	Identifier	"Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier	"Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier	"Default Screen"
	Monitor		"Configured Monitor"
	Device		"Configured Video Device"
	SubSection "Display"
		Virtual	1280 800
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
	Option	"DontZap"	"False"
EndSection
I have a Toshiba laptop, Intel Core 2 Duo (64-bit) with 4 Gib RAM, running 32-bit Gloria (the download page said that was more stable than the 64-bit). Here's a link to full specs: Toshiba Satellite 305.

Any help is appreciated.

Arnold
Last edited by aehjr1 on Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by Husse »

You could try to use the modes option
It's described here two posts first modes then modelines
This is valid for any graphics card
If that does not help post your lspci in your answer
Solutions for sound

This topic contains links to all (?) the really good solutions for sound in Mint
If you have Intel HDA sound take a look here first
If you want more help please include lspci and which Mint you use
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

"today lost sound too."

This seems to be a standard story on Ubuntu forums.
The most amazing was a thread entitled like this (if I am not mistaken):
"Moved computer from one room to another and sound vanished"

This may work for you:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=32725

Fresh clean install to set everything right.

About resolution. An interesting research was made by Practic.
I will try to find it.

*****************************************************
Edit: I have not yet found that message of Practic,
but here is the solution:

On my Ubuntu 9.04, I have this hidden file:

/home/igor/.config/monitors.xml

CONTENT:

<monitors version="1">
<configuration>
<clone>no</clone>
<output name="VGA-0">
</output>
<output name="S-video">
</output>
<output name="LVDS">
<vendor>???</vendor>
<product>0x0000</product>
<serial>0x00000000</serial>
<width>1400</width>
<height>1050</height>
<rate>60</rate>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<rotation>normal</rotation>
<reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
<reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
</output>
</configuration>
</monitors>

You can edit it with Gnome Text Editor

Type on Terminal:

cp ~/.config/monitors.xml ~/Desktop/monitors-copy.xml

gedit ~/.config/monitors.xml

As I remember, Practic simply deleted that file and rebooted.
You may better edit it.
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by Husse »

The ~/.config/monitors.xml file is not present in all systems - for instance I have never had one
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

QOUTE: "The ~/.config/monitors.xml file is not present in all systems - for instance I have never had one"

Yes! You are right! I have it on Ubuntu 9.04, but I have not it in Mint 7.
But such file should be somewhere. It can be named in another way.
It is very simple. When you change your screen resolution
in Ubuntu: System -> Preferences ->Display
the setting should be stored somewhere in such a file.
Notice that you change the settings without root privileges.
Therefore, this should be a hidden file in your home directory.
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

More exactly:

Practic claimed that he found that file in Mint 5 (!!!) [message of September 5th, 2008]
I have not it in Mint 7 (in Ubuntu 9.04 it is here: ~/.config/monitors.xml )

QUOTE:
I next began to delete folders from home (home/"user" to be exact) out of the fresh install...taking a few at a time, then logging out and back in to see if the problem was fixed. I finally narrowed it down to the hidden ".gnome2" directory. Inside this folder was a file called "monitors.xml" which had the following contents:

- <configuration>
<clone>no</clone>
- <output name="default">
<vendor>???</vendor>
<product>0x0000</product>
<serial>0x00000000</serial>
<width>800</width>
<height>600</height>
<rate>73</rate>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<rotation>normal</rotation>
<reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
<reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
</output>
</configuration>

You can see the entries for width/height as 800x600. Once this file was removed, my desktop booted in its natural 1680x1050 resolution. Put the file back into the ".gnome2" directory and the monitor was back to 800x600 at boot. I'm not sure which utility created this file, as I tried out quite a few different utils over the week.

Anyway, for those struggling with a low-res boot problem, this is one thing to watch out for.

End of QUOTE
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

Hi Husse!!!

I created that file on Mint 7 !!!

Step 1: Right click on Mint Panel,
select "Add to Panel",
select "Main Menu (The main GNOME Menu)
Press "+Add"

This created a icon on the panel with the same menu as in Ubuntu.

Step 2: Click on that "Main Menu" icon,
System -> Preferences -> Display
Press the button "Apply"

This produced exactly the same file as in Ubuntu 9.04

/home/igor/.config/monitors.xml

CONTENT:

<monitors version="1">
<configuration>
<clone>no</clone>
<output name="default">
<vendor>???</vendor>
<product>0x0000</product>
<serial>0x00000000</serial>
<width>1600</width>
<height>1200</height>
<rate>60</rate>
<x>0</x>
<y>0</y>
<rotation>normal</rotation>
<reflect_x>no</reflect_x>
<reflect_y>no</reflect_y>
</output>
</configuration>
</monitors>
aehjr1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by aehjr1 »

Thanks Husse and Igorxws! So much to go over, as I've been busy the last couple days and haven't checked replies to this. Good news is there's been only one repeat of the loss of sound, and I've "solved" one problem with video I hadn't mentioned in this post.

Husse, I take it that the Modes will work with SubSection: Display: Virtual? Both (now) show 1280x800 in their own syntax.

[EDIT:09/17/2009] Oh, no, that didn't work at all. X crashed on me big time, error message was that Screen was not defined. I tried commenting out the SubSection, that didn't work, then commented out the Modes. Now the section looks like:

Code: Select all

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
        Device          "Configured Video Device"
#       Modes           "1280x800@60"
        SubSection "Display"
                Virtual 1280 800
        EndSubSection
EndSection
But, once commented out it rebooted fine and came up 1280x800. Hopefully the ~/.config.monitors.xml file changes I also made (removing the "TV" output section specifying 1024x768) will keep the resolution to what I want.

Husse, I am using 32-bit Gloria (Mint 7) and will add another post for "sudo lspci -v" output.
[/EDIT]

Igorxws, thanks for the research, I was wondering where the gnome-display-properties info was stored, that looks like the place. I also wondered why it appeared the GRUB splash looked like 1280x800 while subsequent screens showed 1024x768; I think this explains it. (BTW, while I do have a .gnome directory, there is no monitors.xml file in it, but there is the .config/monitors.xml file in my Mint7.) I will edit the file to remove the section showing "TV" settings at 1024x768 and see what happens on subsequent boots.

FYI, the issue I "solved" was that sometimes on boot, a vertical line appeared in the display; you could see the desktop to the right of the line, but that section never refreshed and anything drawn there would blur and wipe the screen. I found somewhere a Web page that said an issue like this was Compiz related--and I do use funky Compiz effects. In any case, the "fix" was to stop loading Thunderbird automatically through the mintMenu, but instead write a script which runs automatically and have the script sleep for 30 seconds before starting Thunderbird. I really tweaked up the scripting and now have only to fix the logging the way I want it, but the Compiz screen blurring situation is now in the past.

I will update this again if all this works well, i.e. the problem disappears.
aehjr1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by aehjr1 »

Wow, I found I couldn't attached a TXT or LOG file, nor one without an extension. Not that I intend to attach a lot of files here, but now I'm intrigued. Anyway, here is the output as requested. I ran under sudo to avoid all those "Capabilities: <access denied>" messages.

$ sudo lspci -v

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Capabilities: [e0] Vendor Specific Information <?>
Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
Kernel modules: intel-agp

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 2297
Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Memory at c0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable)
I/O ports at 5110
Capabilities: [90] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 3

00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Memory at d3500000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 3

00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
I/O ports at 50e0
Capabilities: [50] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 21
I/O ports at 50c0
Capabilities: [50] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03) (prog-if 20)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
Memory at d6705c00 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Debug port: BAR=1 offset=00a0
Capabilities: [98] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
Memory at d6700000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [60] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link <?>
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel

00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=02, subordinate=02, sec-latency=0
I/O behind bridge: 00003000-00004fff
Memory behind bridge: d5700000-d66fffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 00000000d0400000-00000000d14fffff
Capabilities: [40] Express Root Port (Slot+), MSI 00
Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [90] Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Capabilities: [a0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [180] Root Complex Link <?>
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
Kernel modules: shpchp

00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=03, subordinate=03, sec-latency=0
I/O behind bridge: 00002000-00002fff
Memory behind bridge: d4600000-d56fffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 00000000d1500000-00000000d24fffff
Capabilities: [40] Express Root Port (Slot+), MSI 00
Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [90] Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Capabilities: [a0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [180] Root Complex Link <?>
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
Kernel modules: shpchp

00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=06, subordinate=07, sec-latency=0
I/O behind bridge: 00001000-00001fff
Memory behind bridge: d3600000-d45fffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 00000000d2500000-00000000d34fffff
Capabilities: [40] Express Root Port (Slot+), MSI 00
Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [90] Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Capabilities: [a0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [180] Root Complex Link <?>
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
Kernel modules: shpchp

00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
I/O ports at 50a0
Capabilities: [50] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
I/O ports at 5080
Capabilities: [50] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
I/O ports at 5060 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
I/O ports at 5040 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03) (prog-if 20)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
Memory at d6705800 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Debug port: BAR=1 offset=00a0
Capabilities: [98] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd

00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93) (prog-if 01)
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=04, subordinate=04, sec-latency=32
Capabilities: [50] Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0
Capabilities: [e0] Vendor Specific Information <?>
Kernel modules: iTCO_wdt

00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03) (prog-if 01)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 2300
I/O ports at 5108 [size=8]
I/O ports at 511c [size=4]
I/O ports at 5100 [size=8]
I/O ports at 5118 [size=4]
I/O ports at 5020 [size=32]
Memory at d6705000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit- Queue=0/4 Enable+
Capabilities: [70] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [a8] SATA HBA <?>
Capabilities: [b0] PCIe advanced features <?>
Kernel driver in use: ahci

00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 11
Memory at d6706000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
I/O ports at 5000 [size=32]
Kernel modules: i2c-i801

00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Thermal Subsystem (rev 03)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 11
Memory at d6704000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: Toshiba America Info Systems Device ff66
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 2299
I/O ports at 3000 [size=256]
Memory at d0410000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
Memory at d0400000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=64K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 7
Capabilities: [50] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 01
Capabilities: [ac] MSI-X: Enable- Mask- TabSize=2
Capabilities: [cc] Vital Product Data <?>
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting <?>
Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel <?>
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-ff-ff-00-00-00-09
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169

03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless WiFi Link 5100
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Device 1201
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 2298
Memory at d4600000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
Capabilities: [c8] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [d0] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [e0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting <?>
Capabilities: [140] Device Serial Number 0c-46-63-ff-ff-5d-21-00
Kernel driver in use: iwlagn
Kernel modules: iwlagn
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

Hi aehjr1 !

Your soundcard seems to be supported by OSS4

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

You can make an interesting experiment:

1. Install another Mint 7 in dual boot

2. Compile OSS4 from Mercurial

The exact howto is here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/OpenSound
Very simple: copy and paste commands to Terminal

Read this story:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=32173

See also:
http://martinbaselier.wordpress.com/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_Sound_System
http://insanecoding.blogspot.com/2009/0 ... sorry.html
aehjr1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by aehjr1 »

Thanks for the info igorzwx. I do want to note in this thread that the loss of sound was "temporary" in that losing it happened only that one time. OTOH, I'm not terribly happy with the sound either. It's much lower in volume than in Vista, and I also note some apps play a WAV file differently than others. I downloaded a number of WAVs for system and mainly mail sounds as Thunderbird has a plugin that randomizes WAV play. Some of the WAVs sound great in Shiretoko, but horrible in Thunderbird or Gnome-player; one sounds great everywhere but Thunderbird.

In any case, that's a pretty good idea to create a partition for test OS's. One question--as you seem to have done this before--can all installed Linuxes use the same swap partition, or do I have to create multiple swap partitions?

Thanks again.
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by Husse »

can all installed Linuxes use the same swap partition, or do I have to create multiple swap partitions?
Unless you magically manage to run two (or more) linuxes at the same time you only need one swap
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

QUOTE: "Unless you magically manage to run two (or more) linuxes at the same time you only need one swap"

It is true. I may add this.
I tend to install multiple Ubuntus/Mints in this way.

1. Boot LiveCD
2. Run GParted
3. Free some space on the disk (10GB is enough)
it should not be formated ("unallocated space") !!!
You may need to make swapoff, perhaps, before you can edit a logical partition.
4. reboot

Install:

1. Boot LiveCD
2. Select option "install to hard disk"
3. Select option "install to largest continouos free space" (this means not formated, no partitions)

Everything will be installed automatically, no new swap partitions will be created.
The result is several Ubuntu/Mints and one swap partition.

EDIT: "that's a pretty good idea to create a partition for test OS's."
It is true. Especially in this case.
You should test first how your soundcard works with OSS4

*****************************************************
How to run GParted

1. Boot Ubuntu LiveCD

2. System -> Administration -> Partition Editor

or on Terminal

gksu gparted

It will not ask you for password :D

I have not tried this with Mint LiveCD,
but it should work too, at least on terminal
aehjr1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by aehjr1 »

Thanks, guys. I didn't think I would need more than one swap, but then again...I don't know a lot of things. I'm not too sure about that LiveCD install option though. It's been a while, but I remember on the Mint 7 LiveCD install the documentation PDF didn't come that close to matching the options on the install.

The documentation basically reviewed only three ways of installing: 1) take over all the disk, and 2) do an "expert" partition job with separated partitions for /etc, /home, etc. or, 3) let the install wizard "make magic" and everything will come out all right. I chose the latter--what n00bie wouldn't--and got hosed with Linux partitions that were MUCH too small and within two days couldn't even boot from the hard drive. Thank God for LiveCD and gparted which allowed me to resize the Linux partitions and boot normally.

In any case, I think this is a job for this weekend.
igorzwx

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too.

Post by igorzwx »

Yes!
You are right!
This is for Ubuntu:

Install:

1. Boot LiveCD
2. Select option "install to hard disk"
3. Select option "install to largest continouos free space" (this means not formated, no partitions)

For Mint:

1. Boot LiveCD
2. Click on the icon "Install" (on Desktop, if I am not mistaken)
3. Answer some questions (language, time zone, etc.)
4. Select option "install to largest continouos free space" (if you have such "unallocated space", that is, not formated, no partitions)

This is an appoximate description, of course.

EDIT: I made it a week ago. The Installer itself is the same as in Ubuntu, of course.
What is diferent, is, perhaps, colors and such things.
aehjr1
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:14 am

Re: Lose resolution on boot & today lost sound too. [SOLVED]

Post by aehjr1 »

For Mint:

1. Boot LiveCD
2. Click on the icon "Install" (on Desktop, if I am not mistaken)
3. Answer some questions (language, time zone, etc.)
4. Select option "install to largest continouos free space" (if you have such "unallocated space", that is, not formated, no partitions)

This is an appoximate description, of course.
Largest contiguous free space rings a bell...I think that's it. Hey, if I'm lucky, I will be able to capture all the installer screen shots to my /data partition...then can produce an updated install guide. But like I said, I think that's a weekend task.

In the meantime, I will be marking this thread SOLVED! Since editing the ~/.config/monitors.xml file to remove the "TV" entry showing 1024x768, I have had absolutely NO boots into the wrong resolution. I have had on occasion, what appears to be a 1024x768 login screen, but after logging in to my account the next screen is 1280x800. Bueno!

As for the sound, I think something about that particular reboot where X had issues with the configuration just killed the sound. I've not had any other occurrences of sound going out. It does look like ALSA has not specified support for the ICH9 chip family, but is smart enough to provide some sound support. I will test the OSSv4 in the new partition, after all that's why I'm creating it. As such, I think I will make the new install the 64-bit Mint 7 as I want to test that as well. In addition to OSS, I will be testing HPLIP install from HP. I've read that only by un-installing all loaded HPLIP components will the entire downloaded version install correctly; the complete install should provide me with a native HP interface to all printing and scanning functions for my new HP Officejet wireless 6500 unit (I LOVE the automatic duplex printing!)
Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”