Setting up a LAN?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
timmn1
Level 4
Level 4

Setting up a LAN?

Post by timmn1 »

I want to try something that I have never done before, just to see if I can make it work. To this end, I would like to set up a LAN so that all the user passwords are stored in one place, so when I want to change a user password I don't have to go to each computer and change it.

The problem is, that I don't even have any idea where to start, so any suggestions and/or ideas would be welcome.

Thanks.

P.S. I have the hardware, but there is very little money for anything else.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Someday, maybe I'll figure out exactly what the hell I'm doing.
Welcome
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Setting up a LAN?

Post by Welcome »

One solution is to install Openssh-server on each computer.

Note: If you're using a Firewall (maybe using gufw), then you'll need to add a rule to allow SSH. (Rules -> '+' -> type 'ssh' in 'Application Filter' -> Add)
  • If the computers are both in the same LAN (same subnet), you should also be able to connect with the name of the remote computer (replace computername with the appropriate name, but keep the '.local' ending):

Code: Select all

ssh computername.local
  • If the remote computer is accessible, but not in the same LAN (same subnet), you'll be able to connect remotely using something like this:

ssh 192.168.xxx.yyyy
  • You'll need to know the ip address of the remote computer. One way to find the ip address is to type the following in a terminal on the remote computer:

ip address