Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
User avatar
fatso
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:48 pm

Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Post by fatso »

Hello all you awesome people!
I'm using the Web Apps app, and I was wondering if there is any way to have them open at specific x,y coordinates.
The reason I ask is because I've written a bash script (used via YAD) to open 2 Web Apps simultaneously, and I'd like them to open side by side, rather than one on top of the other.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7159
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Post by mikeflan »

Maybe this will work for you:
Get position of all open windows and programs:
wmctrl -lG > /home/mike/Documents/winpos.txt

Then reposition windows with commands like this:
wmctrl -r name_of_application -e 0,988,139,856,381
User avatar
fatso
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:48 pm

Re: Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Post by fatso »

mikeflan wrote: Mon Mar 29, 2021 10:36 am Maybe this will work for you:
Get position of all open windows and programs:
wmctrl -lG > /home/mike/Documents/winpos.txt

Then reposition windows with commands like this:
wmctrl -r name_of_application -e 0,988,139,856,381
Thanks for the help!
But I'm very confused. Web Apps are using firefox, going by their own definition, so I'm not sure how to target that. Tried "firefox" as name_of_application, but that had no effect, and I can't figure out what the name of one specific Web App is. Methinks I'm going to have to look up wmctrl and RTFM. ;)
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7159
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Post by mikeflan »

I just repositioned your topic window with this command:

Code: Select all

wmctrl -r '(1) Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates? - Linux Mint Forums — Mozilla Firefox' -e 1,971,50,959,1014
User avatar
fatso
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:48 pm

Re: Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Post by fatso »

Thanks, Mike. I must have something amiss with my system or whatever. The command you posted ran without errors, but had no effect even if I tried it on a manually resized (smaller) window.
I do appreciate you trying to help though. :)
mikeflan
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7159
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:28 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates?

Post by mikeflan »

The output of wmctrl -lG when I type it in a terminal:

Code: Select all

$wmctrl -lG
0x04c00003 -1 0    0    1920 1040 mike-linuxmint Desktop
0x054001fe -1 1022 124  660  438  mike-linuxmint 00MikeF
0x05400217  0 125  769  796  268  mike-linuxmint copy5
0x0540025b  0 107  714  620  319  mike-linuxmint copy7
0x05400529 -1 1118 619  660  438  mike-linuxmint 00MikeF
0x05800012 -1 87   139  1145 811  mike-linuxmint Inbox - mflan@mflan.com - Mozilla Thunderbird
0x00600024  0 125  156  1080 744  mike-linuxmint a-topomaps_all - 03-2021.ods - LibreOffice Calc
0x07400007  0 652  189  1278 690  mike-linuxmint geojsonmulti.pl - /home/mike/Documents/00MikeF - Geany
0x04200085 -1 72   125  1209 793  mike-linuxmint lmforums.txt (~/Desktop)
0x05402563 -1 88   489  852  574  mike-linuxmint copy3
0x06e0000f  0 118  70   1447 933  mike-linuxmint *Hiking Trails — QGIS
0x07c0000f -1 221  84   841  584  mike-linuxmint copy5
0x07c000a8  0 228  620  656  357  mike-linuxmint 00MikeF
0x07c000b9  0 912  286  977  588  mike-linuxmint PDF - 11-2013
0x07c000ca  0 950  250  923  302  mike-linuxmint Trails
0x07c00219 -1 125  96   582  359  mike-linuxmint copy3
0x07c0c909  1 66   580  735  270  mike-linuxmint applications
0x054062ec  1 821  476  900  506  mike-linuxmint mike@mike-linuxmint: /usr/share/applications
0x07c3219c  1 153  610  737  290  mike-linuxmint apt
0x07c8c48c  0 913  625  979  315  mike-linuxmint PDF - 11-2013
0x03a00007  1 1106 128  800  670  mike-linuxmint Software Manager
0x04400005  2 248  79   1588 948  mike-linuxmint BEI Engineers Intranet - Chromium
0x07ca185a  1 41   490  910  383  mike-linuxmint copy
0x07ca9bba  1 131  139  1048 743  mike-linuxmint Home
0x07cae838  1 436  694  1048 254  mike-linuxmint Documents
0x05003977  1 917  188  959  799  mike-linuxmint Shutdown, Reboot, Suspend and Hibernate a Linux System — Mozilla Firefox
0x05001a14  0 877  103  962  929  mike-linuxmint Everything Linux - A Tutorial on Using Rsync — Mozilla Firefox
0x0500002e  1 92   139  1040 873  mike-linuxmint (1) Other topics - Linux Mint Forums — Mozilla Firefox
0x05000021  0 793  82   1026 953  mike-linuxmint dc.pm.org: Home — Mozilla Firefox
0x05004143  1 971  50   959  1014 mike-linuxmint (1) Pre-set Web Apps screen coordinates? - Linux Mint Forums — Mozilla Firefox
Notice the last item. If you don't have that exact application name listed it will not work for you.

Type the command above (wmctrl -lG). Move a window. Then build the wmctrl -r . . . command from your application names for the window you moved.
Locked

Return to “Other topics”