NTFS disk partly readable, seems corrupted systematically [SOLVED]

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
stumpie92
Level 1
Level 1

NTFS disk partly readable, seems corrupted systematically [SOLVED]

Post by stumpie92 »

I've got a strange problem with a Windows NTFS filesystem which I can't read after using Clonezilla. I'm trying to sort it from Linux.

[ 0. I was a Unix 6 sysadmin in the 1970s, but switched to Mac and Windows, so my detailed knowledge of Linux is sketchy ]
1. Planning to install Windows 10 on a Dell laptop (Inspiron M5040).
2. For safety, clone current installation (Windows 7, NTFS) to external HDD using Clonezilla, vanilla settings, no error messages
3. Reboot laptop - Windows can't find boot files
4. Run Diagnostics from BIOS - pretty comprehensive, all OK - includes disk and boot path
5. Reboot still failing, so boot up Live Linux Mint (18.3 Sylvia) from a USB stick, all OK. Can see Windows (NTFS) files OK in the file browser, all folders and links, files and their properties. HOWEVER, cannot read any file or create a new one, error "Input/output error". Same for every file except (bizarrely) for some .ini (=text) files.
7. Looked at file systems:

Code: Select all

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
mint@mint ~ $ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
udev            1.8G     0  1.8G   0% /dev
tmpfs           356M   11M  346M   3% /run
/dev/sdb        1.8G  1.8G     0 100% /cdrom
/dev/loop0      1.8G  1.8G     0 100% /rofs
aufs            1.8G   89M  1.7G   5% /
tmpfs           1.8G   26M  1.8G   2% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
tmpfs           1.8G     0  1.8G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           1.8G  520K  1.8G   1% /tmp
cgmfs           100K     0  100K   0% /run/cgmanager/fs