Unable to launch Cinnamon session after trying to uninstall network manager

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Holographic
Level 1
Level 1

Unable to launch Cinnamon session after trying to uninstall network manager

Post by Holographic »

Hi Folks,

I'm new to Linux Mint and new to the forums. Apologies in advance if my requirement is redundant or fundamentally fundamental!

Over three months ago, I bought a laptop that had Mint pre-installed on it. I do not have a Mint boot disk. Last week, I was at a popular cafe' using Chrome to surf the net. Apparently there is a well known issue with the cafe' not clearing out the DNS cache, which prevents Linux Chrome users from accessing the internet at other cafe' locations. I read in a forum, that the solution may be to uninstall network manager and reinstall it, or, to just install the Chromium browser. I opted to uninstall network manager.

I don't recall the command string I used to uninstall network manager. Whatever I used, the uninstall also uninstalled files that are used to render my desktop!

I login to Mint using the usual cool splash-screen, then get the previously mentioned "unable to launch cinnamon session ... falling back to..." etc. <ok> error.

From there, I just get a black screen. Yet I am able to login using control-alt-F1, which brings me to a " ~$ " prompt. I am able to run commands. I am an admin of the workstation in Mint. Unfortunately when trying to get an update, Mint is unable to reach any online OS repository websites, probably because network manager (and the wifi drivers and whatever else) is missing from my Mint 20.3 OS.