How do I set locale to it_IT?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
radames
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:38 pm

How do I set locale to it_IT?

Postby radames » Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:41 pm

I need to set locale to it_IT (not uTF-8).

I do I do that?

Thanks

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:55 pm

You can adjust your keyboard settings in the menu - just add italian. For language support (i.e. have the menus and what not translated) you have to install the language (in synaptics or apt-get)
If I miss something post back
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

radames
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:38 pm

Postby radames » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:18 am

Thanks for your answer, but the question is not about the keybord layout, which is OK, neither about the interface language. I prefer english, so it easier to find information on the net in case of troubles.

The question is about the character encoding (it_IT; it_IT.UTF.8 , it_IT@euro, it_IT@euro.UTF-8 or en_EN, en_EN.UTF-8 and so on.

How do I change them?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:07 pm

in Firefox Edit>Preferences>Content>Advanced
else I don't know - never thought about it
Where do you want to change it?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

radames
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:38 pm

Postby radames » Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:06 pm

Why Firefox?

I want to change it in the whole system. Well, I wanted, now I do not need it anymore, but i'd like to know all the same.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:20 am

Why Firefox - partly because of my ignorance - I had a bit of a problem to find a good solution :)
To set the locale for bash (the terminal) you have a solution here:
http://www.linux.com/base/ldp/howto/Ind ... ocale.html
For the entire system I finally found:
http://linuxreviews.org/man/locale/
and it seems to be localedef you use
man localedef
It's a good idea to bookmark
http://linuxreviews.org/man/index.html.en
as this is a comprehensive walk through
Never thought of just setting the locale :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest