New to Gnome and MINT

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
wjni
Level 1
Level 1

New to Gnome and MINT

Post by wjni »

Gooday to All

I have been using KDE for almost 10 years and recently with the KDE upgrade found KDE4 not as stable and in desperation switched to Mint9 after reading the reviews. I am impressed. Nothing is perfect (one can always see things that may be better) but it is a very smooth operating system. Some of the KDE apps that apparently can be run in Mint9 Gnome are interesting and shall give them a try before the release of Mint10 Gnome. Well done to the Mint G&Gs (geeks and gurus) and the FORUM addicts who help to make it such a good OS.
Cheers wjni
linmint777
Level 5
Level 5

Re: New to Gnome and MINT

Post by linmint777 »

I do not agree, although I accept that I use gnome (debian & main)
my host is and will remain linux mint kde.
with the jump to kde4 if experienced instability in mint kde, but was it because of my hardware that was already becoming insufficient.
I bought a new pc, and ready to continue to enjoy the best of Linux: KDE
Linux Mint #1 Distro.
http://mintyubuntu.blogspot.com
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14

Post by tdockery97 »

I guess each to his/her own taste. I'm a Gnome addict myself. The coolest thing about Linux is that I can still run important KDE apps like K3b in Gnome. :D
Mint MATE 20.1
linmint777
Level 5
Level 5

Post by linmint777 »

I guess each to his/her own taste
yes, I forgot to mention that
Linux Mint #1 Distro.
http://mintyubuntu.blogspot.com
vooid
Level 1
Level 1

Post by vooid »

GNOME fan here. I've always considered KDE as being too bulky imho.
Elisa

Post by Elisa »

After my experiences with KDE in Kubuntu 10.04 and KDE in Mint 9, as someone told for KDE u must have better/newer than average/older hw :lol: