PXE is... gone?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
iHateApple
Level 1
Level 1

PXE is... gone?

Post by iHateApple »

Hi all. I'm new to the community. I've been using Mint for a few months to rescue an old Toshiba laptop from death by Microsoft. I tried Mint 9 GNOME first, then added KDE to a new partition. Lately, even though CD drive has been set to first boot priority in BIOS settings, I can't get it to boot from any CDs/DVDs. I know they're burned correctly, and I know the CD drive works (Once I start up Mint, I can use any CD fine). I've done all this before, and each time I boot, normally PXE comes up and runs a test to make sure there aren't any discs in the drive. It's doesn't now. It just goes straight to GRUB after the Toshiba logo. (I don't see any error codes.) Did Mint affect this? I don't really know much about pre-boot software, so help me out if you have any ideas. Thanks in advance for helping out a new user!

P.S. Okay, now I'm in trouble. My BIOS is outdated. I think updating it will help, but it only comes as an .exe. Running wine didn't work ( hough I doubted it would). Flashrom crashes my computer. And I can't make a bootable cd to install it with freeDOS because I can't boot from CDs. Please help!

beefstu
Level 5
Level 5

Re: PXE is... gone?

Post by beefstu »

a BIOS update is unlikely to affect things like this. I had a laptop that did very similar things to this, the way I could get it to boot from CD was to put the CD in the drive, go into the BIOS (keep pressing the relevant key at boot (usually escape, delete or sometimes F12)) go to the boot device priority section, and change the settings and put them back to boot from CD first then press (normally F10) to save and reboot, it would then boot from the CD that time.

Hopefully that works, otherwise there may be a key to select a boot device, mine is F9.