How do i re-enable Mint grub, other distro took MBR over ??

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
glenn69
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:05 pm

How do i re-enable Mint grub, other distro took MBR over ??

Postby glenn69 » Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:11 pm

I've installed another distro on my system and it overwrote the MBR with it's own grub info. I much prefer the Mint grub. How can I re establish the mint grub / bootup screen to my MBR?

Thanks

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:17 am

This can be a bit tricky
Assuming that you know a little bit of Linux I'd sugest the following:
Use the wiki to "repair" grub
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... _your_grub
As the location for the grub you use the location of Mint grub
Then your back with it, but the other distro is gone.
Open /etc/boot/grub/menu.lst in that distro and copy the llines that start the distro to Mint's menu.lst
Note some distros place menu.lst elsewhere and use a link from grub.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

rich
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:39 pm

Postby rich » Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:59 am

Open a term as root as type
grub
root (hd0,5) - **whatever partition your linux is on**
setup (hd0) -**this will put grub on the MBR and link it to the above**
quit

That's all you got to do - I did this not 5 minutes ago to recover my mbr from installing XP next to Xubuntu...

User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2066
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby linuxviolin » Sun Oct 21, 2007 7:48 am

Husse wrote:As the location for the grub you use the location of Mint grub
Then your back with it, but the other distro is gone.
Open /etc/boot/grub/menu.lst in that distro and copy the llines that start the distro to Mint's menu.lst
Note some distros place menu.lst elsewhere and use a link from grub.

you can also use chainloader (install Grub of your principale distro in MBR and Grub of your secondary distro in root partition)
Example with Debian on hdb2:

Code: Select all

# Debian chain
title   debian
root (hd1,1)
chainloader +1


The changes will be taken into account automatically by GRUB. Normally, the next time when you select the entry for the secondary distribution, you will fall on its boot loader and this allows you to start it. :D
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests