what if

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
hart02
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:24 pm

what if

Postby hart02 » Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:22 pm

i type in sodu su root or something like that in a terminal. It prompts me for a password. i cant type anything but enter. what can i do?

User avatar
hugh
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 4:39 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Postby hugh » Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:55 pm

That's because when you are asked for the password the cursor does not move while you are typing it in, so it seems as if nothing is happening.

Try putting in the password and then hit enter, you should see your commands working OK

Hope this helps :)

Hugh
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing . . .

WARNING this user only has a little knowledge :)

User avatar
D-EJ915
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Postby D-EJ915 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:36 am

When prompting for passwords in command-line it will not acknowledge visually that there has been any input but if you type it in, it's there =3
Image

carlos
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby carlos » Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:54 pm

Yep, what they said up there :wink:
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests