How to disable IPv6 in Linux Mint

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
zelda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:06 pm

How to disable IPv6 in Linux Mint

Postby zelda » Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:18 pm

Hi, Ive tried to disable IPv6. Ive had a few people in #ubuntu help me. They have gave me links to support documents and tutorials of how to disable IPv6. Ive followed directions to the "T" I've edited bad_list with the correct lines. Ive edited aliases with other lines from the help forums. I've also edited about:config. With all the help I have received when I type in terminal ip a |grep inet6. Its still there. I would appreciate some help. If you need me to post stuff let me know. Thanks in advance!

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5661
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:20 pm

Hi Zelda,

Are you running Barbara ?? ipv6 is disabled in Bea..

Clem

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: How to disable IPv6 in Linux Mint

Postby scorp123 » Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:26 pm

zelda wrote:Hi, Ive tried to disable IPv6.
Hmmm ... I could have sworn that IPv6 is already disabled by default in Mint?? Can you please post the output of this command:

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep ip

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5661
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:30 pm

Scorp: To be precise, enabled in Ada beta007, Barbara final and Bea beta023. Disabled in Bea final.

Clem

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:48 pm

clem wrote:Scorp: To be precise, enabled in Ada beta007, Barbara final and Bea beta023. Disabled in Bea final.
Yes, I was talking of Bea. That's what most people use around here. There are only few stubborn ones left still using Barbara ... as myself :D

zelda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:06 pm

Postby zelda » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:58 pm

Well I was using "Barbara" Then I just reformatted to "Bea" I checked the about:config and its disabled, yet my internet connection is still slow. I will post the output here later. Im working!
-Thanks in advance

zelda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:06 pm

Postby zelda » Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:18 am

lsmod | grep ip doesnt output anything. And how do I get rid of the "extra" quotes in terminal? I think thats lame!

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:56 am

zelda wrote: lsmod | grep ip doesnt output anything.
Good. If IPv6 were active then you'd get something like this:

Code: Select all

~> lsmod | grep ip
ipv6                  263584  24
So no response means that the ipv6 module (= "driver") was not loaded. In my example it's loaded so that's why I get something back here.

zelda wrote: And how do I get rid of the "extra" quotes in terminal? I think thats lame!
You should develop some sense for humour :wink:

zelda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:06 pm

Postby zelda » Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:00 pm

I have a sense of humor. I dont want the quotes. Will you tell me how to disable or get rid of them please? If not, I will go back to "Barbara"

scripted
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:03 am

Postby scripted » Sat Jan 13, 2007 12:54 pm

Open up /etc/bash.bashrc then just comment these lines

Code: Select all

# if the command-not-found package is installed, use it
if [ -x /usr/bin/command-not-found ]; then
   function command_not_found_handle {
                /usr/bin/command-not-found $1
                return $?
   }
fi

/usr/games/fortune


then just remove fortune ?
sudo apt-get remove fortune

i don't know if its safe to do this because im a newbie to linux :oops:

Edit: ooops :P
Last edited by scripted on Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Sat Jan 13, 2007 1:03 pm

scripted wrote:then just remove fortune ?
sudo apt-get fortune
sudo apt-get remove fortune :wink:

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5661
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Sat Jan 13, 2007 6:58 pm

You can leave fortune, all you need to do is remove the line calling it in bashrc.rc.

Clem

zelda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:06 pm

Postby zelda » Mon Jan 15, 2007 1:24 am

Thanks clem. It worked!

User avatar
Frijolie
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 2:41 am

Postby Frijolie » Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:51 am

did you finally get ipv6 disabled or just get fortune to stop displaying in the terminal?

zelda
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:06 pm

Postby zelda » Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:38 pm

yes I did thanks


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests