compiz settings

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
twodogs
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:18 pm

compiz settings

Postby twodogs » Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:28 am

sorry for simple question...

but, in 3.1 beta i could adjust settings for compiz and now in 4.0 i cant find the settings menu. where did it go.

i can activate cube so i know it is working, just cant change settings.

thanks for help
twodogs out!

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:05 am

Control Center > Advanced Desktop Effects
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

plexi50
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:14 pm
Contact:

Postby plexi50 » Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:04 pm

I am having the same problem, and advance desktop effects does not appear in my control center. I am missing the right section?

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Postby rootkowski » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:29 pm

I can say the same. Just installed stable Daryna and the advanced settings option is nowhere to be found. I checked also if maybe it's disabled in the menu's settings but it is not there either. What package has to be installed to get that working?

Thanx

User avatar
twodogs
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:18 pm

Postby twodogs » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:35 pm

sorry, but no 'advanced desktop effects' or anything similar in my control panel. i think it has been accidentally removed or just moved somewhere else.

if anyone knows what gives, please share. thanks.
twodogs out!

verdegal37
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 618
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:09 pm

Postby verdegal37 » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:43 pm

Hello to all , from Synaptic can be installed Compiz Desktop Settings :wink:
Greetings:
Agust
My operating system ????

rootkowski
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:06 am
Location: Wirral, UK
Contact:

Postby rootkowski » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:48 pm

I just solved it on my system by installing the compizconfig-settings-manager plus the required package (that synaptic asks you to install as well). Now I have Advanced Desktop Effects.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:58 pm

I don't find it either - but it's late now so I may be tired :)
Could be a bug :(
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

plexi50
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:14 pm
Contact:

Postby plexi50 » Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:17 pm

Just installed compizconfig-settings-manager from Synaptic and it is in control panel now. Problem solved

User avatar
twodogs
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:18 pm

Postby twodogs » Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:01 pm

now this is called teamwork. thanks for finding this out and sharing. i like compiz but i love Mint.

twodogs out!

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:22 am

I've reported this to the team as a possible bug
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

joel_gil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:38 pm

Postby joel_gil » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:45 pm

is isnt really a bug
In ubuntu gutsy is the same
U have to manually install the compiz setting manager and the emerald theme manager

I did this and now i have the CF setting manager but it doesnt seems to respond
i.e. i modify many things in it, even try disabling the cube but it wont work, as if there was another manager taking care of it.

Hope someone can help me with this.

thanks in advance

EDIT-----------------
I made a clean install of Dryna went straight to configure CF
installed the CCSM and emerald manager, the emerald manager works perfect (although it doesnt have any themes preinstalled),
But the ccsm is the same, it sticks to the "extra visual effects" config instead of the customized. I really hope someone can help me, again thanks in advance!

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5667
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Mon Nov 19, 2007 7:43 am

compizconfig-settings-manager was actually present in Daryna BETA 021, but removed because it brought stability issues (users couldn't not quit or launch terminals... etc.. in some situations).

Clem
Image


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests