CNR Upgrade

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

I received an email from Freespire that an upgrade was now ready for CNR. I checked it out and it mentions that it is compatible with Ubuntu 7.10. Has any one tried it in Mint?--I'm chicken:(
PiEp
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:39 am

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by PiEp »

I would be interested as well if this works. Could be some stiff competition for the Mint Software Portal. But hey, that's a good thing, right? ;)
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

PiEp wrote:I would be interested as well if this works. Could be some stiff competition for the Mint Software Portal. But hey, that's a good thing, right? ;)
I don't know how much competition it would be. At one time Clem talked about offering CNR.
User avatar
ceti
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Brazil

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by ceti »

When I run Freespire 1.0 some time ago, CNR was my package manager. It's wonderful, has a lot more packages than Debian (37.000+), it's easy, it's free.
It'd be a nice addition to Mint, though I think that Mint's Software Portal becomes redundant. I'll try it on Mint tomorrow.

Cheers
Sorry, but that's the way it is.
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by pashabear »

I wonder if there could be a harmonization of mintInstall and CNR. Actually they're quite similar in some respects, and since CNR is open source now the code could be used / modified for mintInstall. This way, we could get the benefits of our own portal, with the abundance of software on CNR.

Just my 2 kopecks worth...
pb

p.s. will await your report on how the CNR client works on Mint, ceti!
User avatar
ceti
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Brazil

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by ceti »

Well, I downloaded and run CNR on Mint 4.0 and.... it worked flawllesly!!!!
That's what I did:

1 - I open my account here (piece of cake: name, password, email address and there you go):
http: http://www.cnr.com/index.seam
2 - I downloaded CNR here (I used Method 1 - using apt-get):
http://www.cnr.com/supportPages/aboutDo ... Ubuntu7.10
3 - After installation, I clicked here to run it: Applications > System Tools > CNR

First, CNR synchronizes itself with CNR.com (1-2 minutes), then opens the CNR webpage. I installed some games and all went well. One thing I had to do: in the the download window of Firefox, the 'Open with' option defaults to Firefox. I had to change that to /usr/bin/cnr (which is the default with Ubuntu, but not with Mint!). When you click the 'OK' button, a file with extension .cnr is downloaded and installed .

Note: CNT only installs. If you want to remove a package, you have to use 'apt-get remove xxx' or Synaptic.

Cheers
Sorry, but that's the way it is.
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

ceti wrote:Well, I downloaded and run CNR on Mint 4.0 and.... it worked flawllesly!!!!
Thanks, though I don't know if I'm convident enough to try it myself.
User avatar
BakUp
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by BakUp »

ceti wrote:Well, I downloaded and run CNR on Mint 4.0 and.... it worked flawllesly!!!!
I also tested it today with my Mint 4.0 and did not acquire any problems !

I used the CNR years ago when I was a Linspire user. It always worked well for me then also.
My Linux Distros:
sidux - Parsix - DreamLinux - Mint
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

ceti wrote:One thing I had to do: in the the download window of Firefox, the 'Open with' option defaults to Firefox. I had to change that to /usr/bin/cnr (which is the default with Ubuntu, but not with Mint!). When you click the 'OK' button, a file with extension .cnr is downloaded and installed .

Note: CNT only installs. If you want to remove a package, you have to use 'apt-get remove xxx' or Synaptic.

Cheers
Can you explain this 'download window of Firefox'? I'm not sure what you mean.

Also, see your "Note:" Did you mean CNR instead of CNT?
User avatar
ceti
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Brazil

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by ceti »

Can you explain this 'download window of Firefox'? I'm not sure what you mean.
The little box that Firefox displays when you click on a link to download something. In the box, you have the options:
Open with:
and
Save

Also, see your "Note:" Did you mean CNR instead of CNT?
Sorry, yes. CNT is a TV Network here in Brazil.
Sorry, but that's the way it is.
User avatar
ceti
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:41 am
Location: Brazil

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by ceti »

There's a good tutorial (in English) here:

http://phorolinux.com/how-to-use-cnr-se ... ml#more-79

It's for Ubuntu, but...what the hell, it works with Daryna!!!

Cheers
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

ceti wrote:Well, I downloaded and run CNR on Mint 4.0 and.... it worked flawllesly!!!!
Well, I didn't get very far. I followed the instructions, the best way I knew how, and I get this error message when trying to update.

Err http://apt2.freespire.org gutsy-extra Release

W: GPG error: http://apt2.freespire.org gutsy-extra Release: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY 67415A2AE9DF4EC5

What did I do wrong?
FXRS
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:55 pm

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by FXRS »

Well, I didn't get very far. I followed the instructions, the best way I knew how, and I get this error message when trying to update.

Err http://apt2.freespire.org gutsy-extra Release

W: GPG error: http://apt2.freespire.org gutsy-extra Release: The following signatures couldn't be verified because the public key is not available: NO_PUBKEY 67415A2AE9DF4EC5

What did I do wrong?


Same here.
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

FXRS wrote:Same here.
Well at least I know I'm not the only one having problems.
FXRS
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 11:55 pm

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by FXRS »

Well I just went ahead and installed the CNR download and let it install and it still seemed to work.
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: CNR Upgrade

Post by antiquexray »

antiquexray wrote:
FXRS wrote:Same here.
Well at least I know I'm not the only one having problems.
Anyone else getting this error? Does anyone know why, or how to fix it?

***EDIT***

OK, now I'm really confused. I just did the apt-get update thing again and guess what??? No errors! What changed!!!
Post Reply

Return to “Other topics”