Nautilus search yields no results

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mover47
Level 1
Level 1

Nautilus search yields no results

Postby mover47 » Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:08 am

Hi there,

When I run a search from Nautilus or use Places-->Search, my queries always come back with no results found ('0'). Examples of searches I have run:

boot
bin
etc
fstab
menu
names of mp3 files

I'm a noob, and I don't know where a lot of files or folders are, so I want to use a search instead of wandering around the file system. Why doesn't the search bring back results? Isn't this a "file search"? I used Fedora's search tool like this, and had no problems. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

skampo
Level 1
Level 1

Postby skampo » Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:57 am

Go to system preferences and select search indexing, or open file browser and select search, or in terminal type beagle-search.

mover47
Level 1
Level 1

Postby mover47 » Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:13 am

Whether in Beagle or the Gnome-based search, the result is the same:
0 items. I have /root as a path in Beagle, no change. But why should I have to use an indexed search anyway?

skampo
Level 1
Level 1

Postby skampo » Fri Jan 26, 2007 4:43 am

I am sure there is a beter way then what I did. Maybe someone will tell us if so.

What I did was open beagle the first time, then went into preferences and turned of index home folder, then added / so that all the file system is searched when I go to search any of those ways I said.

mover47
Level 1
Level 1

Postby mover47 » Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:22 pm

Thanks skampo. I've 'solved' the problem.

To restate, I had a problem with Nautilus's quick find <Ctrl+F>: When I would search for things like 'bin', 'fstab', and parts of file names, the search would consistently return '0 items'.