A little problem

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
neuro
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:34 pm

A little problem

Postby neuro » Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:38 pm

Greetings, my first try with Linux Mint and my first post here.. :)
Anyone knows "root" default password for Linux Mint? I've been installed it on VMWare and I need root pass to install VMWare tools...

Thx a lot! :)

Wickermann
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby Wickermann » Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:46 pm

Did you try with leaving the Password for "root" just free ?
Or..create a new passowrd for root. This can be done under System->Administration--> User and groups.

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby 900i » Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:39 pm

The root account is disabled by default in this distro, like Ubuntu. The password is the one you setup when you made your user account.
Intel i7 LMDE 2. Daily driver Toshiba Chromebook

User avatar
sanford42
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Postby sanford42 » Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:43 pm

instead of giving a user account root priveleges through "su", you just type:

Code: Select all

sudo *command*
and it will prompt you for your password.

it took me a while to get used to it, but now that i have, i like it better than su.

User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5661
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Postby clem » Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:20 pm

Well.. there is a root account, and it's not disabled. The password for it is simply unknown.. (I can't remember if it's random, or simply some hardcoded gibberish stuff defined in the casper-bottom scripts).. but anyway.

Your default account can run anything as root by typing "sudo" in front of the command, so you can perfectly give root a new password... all you have to do is :

sudo passwd root

Et voila.

User avatar
Quicksilver 689
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:12 pm

sudo -s ?

Postby Quicksilver 689 » Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:11 pm

I could be mistaken here, but I could have sworn that at some point I was able to do "sudo -s", which kept me at the root prompt afterwards, thereby effectively switching me to root.

Anyone able to confirm/deny this?

whistlerspa
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:37 pm

Postby whistlerspa » Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:10 pm

I use sudo su - that works after you put in your password


Return to “Other topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests