Abandoned

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Paddler

Abandoned

Post by Paddler »

Yup. I was an XP Pro user until Microsoft abandoned me. My computer's disks are too small, the memory is inadequate, and the CPU is too slow to upgrade Windows again. One morning, I heard on NPR that Linux could boost a little extra life out of an old machine, so here I am.

I started computing by programming a Z80 (Digital Group) computer with machine language. Then came DEC's PDP 11 mini-computers and RSX11M and assembly language. I followed that with Sun OS and private networks with routers and gateways. That was all done with many years ago. I am retired now and have forgotten everything I ever knew about the operating system we used to call "Eunuchs".

I am now a writer and a musician. I have a notebook computer that records music very well with Steinberg's Cubase programs and their A/D hardware. However, the notebook is so hellaciously unstable with text entry that it is impossible to write with. I have to use my old, decrepit desktop machine for a word processor. I want to use it on the Internet, too, which is why I am making this foray into the Linux world.

I promise to use the search function with the forums here, but I will probably come up with questions that are too daft to be covered by your database.

Regards,
Paddler
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
The-Wizard

Re: Abandoned

Post by The-Wizard »

welcome to the mint family forums

wizard
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20

Post by austin.texas »

Welcome to Mint and to the forum, Paddler!

Help wiki
https://help.ubuntu.com/community
Good search link:
http://home.windstream.net/joelwest/