System Problem

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Please don't post tech support questions here
Post Reply
User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:00 pm

They are not cooperating with me, when it comes to Sleep, Hibernate,or Shut down, I am having to use the pc's off switch for a dead kill.
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
The-Wizard
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:12 pm
Location: Bedforshire, ENGLAND

Re: System Problem

Post by The-Wizard » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:43 pm

This is the introduction thread , please post your question together with the output of terminal code inxi -Fnx in this forum... viewforum.php?f=46

welcome to the forums

wizard
The idea that Bill Gates has appeared like a knight in shining armour to lead all customers out of a mire of technological chaos neatly ignores the fact that it was he who, by peddling second-rate technology, led them into it in the first place.

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8945
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: System Problem

Post by jimallyn » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:08 pm

Welcome aboard, S t r e t c h!
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:10 pm

Yea right where do I find it. FYI; I'm as green as grass with Linux 17.1 Rebeca. History: my neighbor talk me into this, to give me a challenge, and I am glad he did since I'm retired, and it keeps me out of his hair. :D Now talk to me about W98, XP, W$7 software, I'm good to go, as I have a few friends that I log into their pc's from my place theirs and perform "CPR" . I'm self taught, and being in foreign territory (Linux/Ubuntu) I'm having trouble with language. The difficult I do at once, the impossible takes me a little longer.
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
Crewp
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA

Re: System Problem

Post by Crewp » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:35 pm

Welcome, but it would be helpful to explain in more detail, exactly what is happening.
Image

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Wed Mar 22, 2017 7:51 pm

In the past, with W$7, I was able to hibernate, on ,my laptop. This desktop has linuxmint 17.3/ubuntu only. When I try to sleep, hibernate,shut down, it just restarts, and I have to shut it down with the on and off button on pc.
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3778
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: System Problem

Post by JerryF » Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:24 pm

S t r e t c h wrote:In the past, with W$7, I was able to hibernate, on ,my laptop. This desktop has linuxmint 17.3/ubuntu only. When I try to sleep, hibernate,shut down, it just restarts, and I have to shut it down with the on and off button on pc.
To open a terminal (similar to a command prompt in Windows), look for the program Terminal in your start menu. Click on that, then type in:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fnx
and press enter.
Select the output, right-click and select 'Copy'
Then reply and paste the output by right-clicking and select 'Paste'
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:10 pm

I'm using KDE 32 bit, and my launcher hasn't the terminology you suggested. :(
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
The-Wizard
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:12 pm
Location: Bedforshire, ENGLAND

Re: System Problem

Post by The-Wizard » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:05 am

the terminal is marked with a black square icon with >_ in white within.
The idea that Bill Gates has appeared like a knight in shining armour to lead all customers out of a mire of technological chaos neatly ignores the fact that it was he who, by peddling second-rate technology, led them into it in the first place.

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Thu Mar 23, 2017 2:31 pm

I have decided to read the manual, to familiarize myself with whats' what, cause I can't find the info you suggested.
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
Crewp
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA

Re: System Problem

Post by Crewp » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:26 pm

In Windows it is called the Command line prompt, in Linux we call it the terminal. It will be on your bottom panel right side. Just click it to open, copy and paste this:
inxi -Fnx
hit enter, you should see output.
although you said you use KDE desktop, and I do not, I am assuming it is the same set up on the panel.
Image

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:37 pm

Well, I did what you suggested, except my shows up as "Run Command" a window pop up where I cut and pasted as suggested and here's what I got.
System: Host: S-t-r-e-t-c-h Kernel: 3.13.0-37-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.8.2) Desktop: KDE 4.14.2 (Qt 4.8.6) Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca Machine: System: IBM product: 8215EHU version: ThinkCentre M52 Mobo: IBM model: IBM Bios: IBM version: 2EKT37AUS date: 06/13/2006 CPU: Single core Intel Pentium 4 CPU (-HT-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3) bmips: 6383.82 Clock Speeds: 1: 1400.00 MHz 2: 1400.00 MHz Graphics: Card: Intel 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x1024@60.0hz GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945G x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 10.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes Audio: Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.13.0-37-generic Network: Card: Intel 82573E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Copper) driver: e1000e ver: 2.3.2-k port: 4000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:16:41:3b:02:46 Drives: HDD Total Size: 80.0GB (53.9% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: HDS728080PLA380 size: 80.0GB Partition: ID: / size: 20G used: 6.5G (36%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 1.06GB used: 0.16GB (15%) fs: swap RAID: No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 60.0C mobo: N/A Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A Info: Processes: 126 Uptime: 1:56 Memory: 589.5/991.1MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
Crewp
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA

Re: System Problem

Post by Crewp » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:27 pm

Well from what I see, you should probably not be running Mint with the KDE desktop as it is straining your resources. Try running Mint with the XFCE desktop, it is a lot less resource hungry. Better suited for your PC.
Image

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:23 pm

Thank you for the info. Now how do I roll it over.
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
TooMuchTime
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:30 pm

Re: System Problem

Post by TooMuchTime » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:04 am

Download Mint 17.3 Xfce 32-bit and build a LiveUSB drive. If you don't have any data to save, do the complete rebuild. Otherwise, backup your data and then do a complete rebuild.

Allow me to make a recommendation on partitioning the hard drive.

80GB Hard Drive
/boot - 1GB
swap - 2.5GB (you said you hibernate the computer and Linux hibernation uses the swap space and you have 1GB of RAM)
/ (root) - 20GB
/home - remainder (56GB)

If you want to drop the root partition to 15GB and add that 5GB to the home, you can do that. I have a 25GB root partition and after 1 year of use, it has 7GB used. If you don't install a lot of stuff, 15GB may be fine.

User avatar
S t r e t c h
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: System Problem

Post by S t r e t c h » Fri Mar 24, 2017 8:45 am

You have been most helpful it will be awhile till I'm able to do so & I let you know how I make out.
(:>)))))))))) ***** Tr@^!$
Always be yourself because the people that matter don't mind, and the ones who mind don't matter....

User avatar
Tomgin5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 933
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re: System Problem

Post by Tomgin5 » Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:42 pm

For a fresh convert from Windex it might be better to try Cinnamon.
DO NOT WORRY ABOUT RESCOURCES!
Try this

Code: Select all

tom@tom-1001PX ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: tom-1001PX Kernel: 3.19.0-32-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.2)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 2.8.8 (Gtk 3.10.8~8+qiana) Distro: Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa
Machine:   System: ASUSTeK product: 1001PX v: x.x
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: 1001PX v: x.xx Bios: American Megatrends v: 0601 date: 04/30/2010
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom N450 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3332 
           clock speeds: max: 1667 MHz 1: 1667 MHz 2: 1667 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.17.1 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x600@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel IGD GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 10.5.9 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.19.0-32-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet driver: atl1c v: 1.0.1.1-NAPI port: ec00 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 240.1GB (4.4% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: Corsair_Force_LE size: 240.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 218G used: 8.1G (4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: /boot size: 236M used: 49M (22%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 2.14GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 64.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 161 Uptime: 13 min Memory: 991.4/1991.7MB Init: Upstart runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.111) inxi: 2.2.28 
tom@tom-1001PX ~ $ 
This computer works fine on 17.3 and 18.1 Cinnamon 64.
Much faster than the XP that used to be on it.
Much easier for the transition. More bells and whistles.

Post Reply

Return to “Introduce yourself”