Hello from new Noob

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tmg

Hello from new Noob

Post by tmg »

Just saying Hi, I'm a network engineer based in Birmingham (UK) and am learning Linux so I can learn more around Network Automation and other stuff like that and also generally because I've wanted to learn Linux and what it can do for a few years now. I have played around with Ubuntu and Lubuntu in the past.

I decided to take it seriously and am in the process of building a PC at the moment, hoping to get the final parts this week, I decided to go all in and install Linux as the only OS. I am planning to use Mint on the recommendation of a guy at work. I will be using it for GNS3 network vitualisation and to install and test various different Automation tools based around that such as Ansible, Observium, Napalm, Netbox etc.

This forum looks quite active so hopefully I can ask a few questions when I get stuck!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Hello from new Noob

Post by catweazel »

Welcome aboard!
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19

Post by jimallyn »

Welcome to the Linux Mint forums tmg! You will not regret learning Linux, and you will not regret choosing Mint. There are a few other distros that are much more likely to be used in networking stuff, so you might wind up learning one or more of those, too.
“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan
WharfRat

Post by WharfRat »

Hello tmg Image

Welcome to Linux Mint and the Linux Mint forum :)
phd21
Level 20
Level 20

Post by phd21 »