Hi from Ohio

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
bobalooie
Level 1
Level 1

Hi from Ohio

Post by bobalooie »

Hello all,

I'm a licensed professional electrical engineer, been involved with computing since high school (IBM 1130 and punch cards!). I enjoy retrocomputing with the TRS-80 machines and emulators. My first experience with Linux was with Slackware V4. I switched to Linux Mint with 17.1, been very impressed with the system ever since. I still like Slackware but I don't have the time for the care and feeding that Slackware sometimes requires.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
It's not the having, it's the doing.
lsemmens
Level 11
Level 11

Re: Hi from Ohio

Post by lsemmens »

You're lucky that Slackware only requires occasional care and feeding, think how much effort another OS that you'd have to pay for would require! ;) Welcome to Mint, where nothing ever goes wrong......well, hardly ever.....:D
Fully mint Household
Out of my mind - please leave a message
Citizen229

Post by Citizen229 »

Greetings, fellow Buckeye!
Tomgin5
Level 6
Level 6

Post by Tomgin5 »

Welcome Bobilooie!

This from the guy that designed and built the PDU that powered the ROV that fixed the BP oil spill in the gulf a few years back.
Not a PE but have been building electronic devices since before transistors (vacuum tubes) Teaching boolean algebra in the mid 60's.
programming commandline with punch cards and tape. Micro computers design and use since the 4008 and sinclairs, C64's. :mrgreen:
WharfRat

Post by WharfRat »

Hello Bobilooie Image

Welcome to Linux Mint and the Linux Mint forum :)
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19

Post by jimallyn »

Welcome aboard, bobalooie!