Greetings from Bulgaria

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Neon Black

Greetings from Bulgaria

Post by Neon Black »

Hi there, another newcomer :) I have limited experience with Linux (I "manage" one openSUSE appliance and have used Kali for some security tests), but I think of myself as reasonably experienced in IT as a whole. However, I've always used Windows desktops both at home and at work and I must say it's an OS family I feel comfortable with and actually find to be pretty good most of the time... please don't throw rocks at me!

However, it was about time I learned a thing or two about Linux and since I've read or heard from multiple sources that Mint was one of the most user-friendly distros, I chose it for my main OS on a new laptop. My first impressions are... contradictory. After the dust settled, I can say that Mint looks great, runs smoothly and I will definately get the hang of it, but I fully understood the people who say Linux is not for newbies. My hardware was new, I've installed Mint on the bare metal, no other OS, virtualizations, etc. and it sure gave me some troubles. Wi-fi didn't work at all, sound didn't work at all, after that there were problems with the updates, problems with the Firefox browser and all in all I messed with Mint like 3 full days before getting my environment as I want it to be. After reading and configuring and more reading and some tries and failures I am already on the right track, but if I have to recommend Linux to a not tech-savvy person - no way. However, I now happy and started some online courses, so wish me luck :) And thanks for Mint, now it is great :)
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
all41
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Greetings from Bulgaria

Post by all41 »