Unix Sys V progammer in 1980s, long term Ubuntu, now Mint

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
cwmoser

Unix Sys V progammer in 1980s, long term Ubuntu, now Mint

Post by cwmoser »

I was a Unix System V programmer back in the 1980's, programmed in C.
Took a lot of Unix System Internals courses.
Did a lot of programming interfacing Windows PC with Berkeley Unix on Sun servers.
Fell in love with the 6502 microprocessors and wrote software in Assembly for Commodore microcomputers.
Later got sucked into the Microsoft Windows quagmire and missed the vi editor.
Been a Microsoft free house ever since Ubuntu 6.10.
Used Ubuntu up until 16.04 and then for some reason Ubuntu would no longer install on my PC.
Then downloaded Linux Mint 17 and it would install on my PC.
Now I am running Linux Mint 19 and all is well.

Wife and I are both 70 and we like Linux - especially because we don't have to deal with Windows non-sense like activation codes, malware, viruses, having to pay for software, and bloatware.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
linux-dummie
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Unix Sys V progammer in 1980s, long term Ubuntu, now Mint

Post by linux-dummie »

I LIKE IT!!!
kc1di
Level 18
Level 18

Post by kc1di »

Great testimony :) we're about the same age. Been 100% linux since 1995. Enjoy the great work of Mint team.
welcome aboard :)
Easy tips : https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.com/ Pjotr's Great Linux projects page.
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608
SuperBoby

Post by SuperBoby »

Hello and welcome to you UNIX guru :D
cwmoser wrote: Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:28 pmI was a Unix System V programmer back in the 1980's, programmed in C.