Linux Mint just works

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Please don't post tech support questions here
Luxdragon
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint just works

Post by Luxdragon »

Ahoy,

I know it has been said a thousand times that Linux Mint is one of those operating systems that people love just because it works, but it is true and certainly a thing to be cherished. I'm not exactly new to the Linux Mint Forum, but I believe it would be right that I formally introduce myself now that I have used Mint for two months.

I'm a high school student from the endless woods of Slovenia and my journey to Linux actually began a year and a half ago. My previous laptop had a pre-installed Windows 8.1 and I got used to it. As time went by I had to switch to Windows 10. I did not like it too much and looked for alternatives. Then I encountered Ubuntu. I loved it and that's how I fell down the Linux rabbit hole. My old laptop was slowly going defect, so I decided to buy a new one at the beginning of 2020. I knew that the next LTS release of Ubuntu would come in April and thought that I might explore a few other distros till then. I tried Manjaro, PopOS and Linux Mint, but none worked as well on my Asus TUF as Linux Mint 19.3. It's based on Ubuntu, so I still have access to the repositories I got used to, I don't exactly know why but Mint boots faster than Ubuntu, the Driver Manager is awesome (Mint is the only Linux to have found the right Wi-Fi driver for me) and I really like the Cinnamon desktop environment. Emulators work great (Zelda: Botw at 30fps), Steam Proton and Lutris support is awesome and Kdenlive, LoggerPro, Arduino IDE and Visual Studio Code are all without issues. Linux Mint just works.

I originally intended to reinstall Ubuntu once 20.04LTS would be released, but as of now, I think I'll stay on Linux Mint 19.3 :D till Mint 20.1 is released.

LanceM
Level 8
Level 8

Re: Linux Mint just works

Post by LanceM »