Hi All!

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Please don't post tech support questions here
Mill Left
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All!

Post by Mill Left »

I'm a total newbie to Linux/Ubuntu and everything associated with it and my first steps were a breath of fresh air compared to MicroScud..LOL

However, the more that I update Linux, the more problems I seem to be encountering and things seem to run slower and crash.
I don't understand the thinking of MicroSoft, they abandoned so many working
versions of their own system to give us Win10???? It's not Scottish......IT"S CRAP!!!! LOL

So, here I am in Linux ( for approximately 2 months), with problems....to be made in another post......

I have no idea what "grub" means or what it does, I have no idea what Ubuntu is or does, I'm not sure how to make sure my Linux Cinnamon is safe and secure.
I have no idea which programs I DON"T need.

I have no desire to be a programmer or a test bed, I just want:

1. A safe secure computer.
2. Not to have to spend more time "fixing things" (and losing progress/personal files/website favourites etc) than I spend using Linux.
3. No "link" whatsoever to Microsoft and it's vulnerabilities, I'm a beer drinker so, NO WINE!!! LOL (What's the point of "jumping off the shark" if you open the door to get bitten by the same problems that have infected MS for years?).

Thanks for the support forum here!
And thanks for any patience for dealing with another newbie!!

More to come.........

Steven

mikaelrask
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Hi All!

Post by mikaelrask »

hey and welcome to linux mint and the forum.

What problem do you have when updating Linux?

grub is the boot loader witch shows your os like windows,linux mint, ubuntu and so on.

ubuntu is another distro just like linux mint, linux mint is based of ubuntu simple terms.

linux is so much safer then windows linux was designed to be fast and secure by default and stable.