Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby kmb42vt » Sat Oct 01, 2011 4:07 pm

lleiria wrote:I did a second upgrade in my home desktop, with LMDE freshly installed with the latest respin, and with nvidia drivers, and once again after booting I entered in a tty prompt.
This time it was easier to solve. I followed clem's instructions to remove nvidia-kernel-dkms and nvidia-glx, but the system told me they were not installed (Ididn't understood why, as nvidia drivers were installed and running well before upgrading). So I did an 'apt-get install nvidia-kernel-dkms nvidia-glx' and all was installed. I rebooted and now all seems to run well.
But once again it was not a smooth upgrade. And there is a lot of people who has nvidia graphics cards. I know a lot of people that would panic if this happened to them. To clem's attention.


My system has an Nvidia GT-430 installed and I've had something of the opposite problem after updating to Update Pack 3. The update went fine and I rebooted without a problem afterward. However, unlike my experience with my other LMDE install pointing to the 'incoming' (updated to pre-release Update Pack 3 a few weeks ago), when attempting to boot into the Update Pack 2 kernel I can only boot into a prompt. Removing nvidia-kernel-dkms and nvidia-glx at the prompt and reinstalling fixes the problem as Clem said it would. I like how that I went from a prompt to the login screen right after 'nvidia-kernel-dkms' was reinstalled.
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)

lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby lleiria » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:15 am

Speaking of kernels, I just noticed that I was using a kernel 486, not a 686 nor pae. I don't know why. My home desktop supports Pae kernels, and even 64 bits, though I installed the 32 bit version. The kernel was installed when I made a fresh install with the last respin. So, I wonder: Why was the old kernel installed in spite of the 686 pae?
So, after upgrading with pack 3, I decided to instal the 3.0 Pae kernel, with synaptic. All went well. And after booting with this kernel, there was an enormous difference: the system was quicker, and the crashes with flash plugins are now much reduced.
So, to people who can use this kernel, I recomend.

run

Code: Select all

lscpu

In my case, that tells me that my cpu is i686

Code: Select all

Architecture:          i686
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                2
On-line CPU(s) list:   0,1
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    2
CPU socket(s):         1
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 15
Stepping:              13
CPU MHz:               2200.000
BogoMIPS:              4399.86
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              2048K

Good luck!
Image

User avatar
kmb42vt
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby kmb42vt » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:42 am

lleiria wrote:Speaking of kernels, I just noticed that I was using a kernel 486, not a 686 nor pae. I don't know why. My home desktop supports Pae kernels, and even 64 bits, though I installed the 32 bit version. The kernel was installed when I made a fresh install with the last respin. So, I wonder: Why was the old kernel installed in spite of the 686 pae?


The reason for this was max compatibility for non-PAE CPUs. This was the first item on the LMDE respin release announcement on the Linux Mint blog so you might want to give that a read:

http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1818 :D
"Humph. Choice, it is the quintessential Linux delusion, simultaneously the source of it's greatest strength, and it's greatest weakness." (All apologies to The Architect)

lleiria
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 2:07 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby lleiria » Sun Oct 02, 2011 7:05 pm

kmb42vt,

You are absolutely wright, I hadn't noticed that! What a shame!
But I did well upgrading. My system is now very good.
Greetings from Lisbon
Image

User avatar
jompa89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:37 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby jompa89 » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:42 pm

I replaced my sources as the instructions say, but when I use apt-get update I get this:
Ign http://deb.playonlinux.com squeeze InRelease
Ign http://frickelplatz.de sid InRelease
Hent:1 http://frickelplatz.de sid Release.gpg [198 B]
Funnet http://deb.playonlinux.com squeeze Release.gpg
Funnet http://debian.linuxmint.com testing InRelease
Hent:2 http://debian.linuxmint.com testing/updates InRelease [39,2 kB]
Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com debian InRelease
E: Release file for http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/dist ... /InRelease is expired (invalid since 27d 23t 19m 17s). Updates for this repository will not be applied.

* This is partly in norwegian. Hent=Get Funnet=Found

Anything I have done wrong? My sources.list looks like this:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com/ debian main upstream import
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid main
Norwegian jornalist student who have used linux since 2008.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby zerozero » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:35 pm

jompa89, see here in the known issues viewtopic.php?f=187&t=76556&hilit=+incoming
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
jompa89
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 5:37 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby jompa89 » Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:53 am

zerozero wrote:jompa89, see here in the known issues viewtopic.php?f=187&t=76556&hilit=+incoming

Thanks! Now using the incoming repos ;)
Norwegian jornalist student who have used linux since 2008.

nbob
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby nbob » Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:47 pm

I tried a fresh install of LMDE 201109. Then I tried implementing the Update Pack 3. I carefully updated my sources.list as instructed.

It was a disaster. Looks like it failed to update about half-way through. Seems confused about where to look for the updates.

Now there is a red 'x' over my update icon and a ton of updates show up in the update manager window that cannot be performed.

I think the instructions are ok for someone not doing a fresh install.
Help.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby zerozero » Wed Oct 05, 2011 12:57 pm

nbob,
i would say something went wrong there, the instructions are as valid for a fresh install as for an older system;
to better help you, please share with us

Code: Select all

inxi -r

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
tux-sven
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:44 am
Location: Sweden (@ Kinnekulle)

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby tux-sven » Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:11 pm

Thank you for:
run

Code: Select all

 lscpu


The answer explains why my little Acer Aspire One works better with the 686-pae-kernel. 686-pae IS the kernel i should use, even if the computer is simple and only has 1 GB RAM. :)

ferri
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 4:20 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby ferri » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:05 pm

I installed LMDE 201109 and applied update pack 3 without a problem, except gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad package known problem, which I easily resolved.
I'm running HP Compaq 6820s with wifi Broadcom 4311.
I managed to start working broadcom according tutorial
http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/161
without a problem.
Exchanging to 686-pae-kernel too.

Everything seems working. Thanks. :D

Bobbo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby Bobbo » Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:24 pm

Is Gnome 3 included in this update, or is it just GTK3. I'm curious since if it is, then I must have done something wrong. Gnome-session --version still reports 2.30.2, where as gnome-terminal and system monitor (plus a few other packages) reports 3.01. Maybe I did something wrong during the update so I only got half of gnome 3 or something.

Please enlighten me :mrgreen:

much appreciated

//bobbo

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3971
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby proxima_centauri » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:07 pm

Just gtk3 and some gnome apps at v.3.0.*

Bobbo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby Bobbo » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:32 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:Just gtk3 and some gnome apps at v.3.0.*


Aha! Thank you for a quick respons! 8)

88guy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:18 am

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby 88guy » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:51 pm

Hmmm. I have almost no background with debian-based distros and I have gotten nowhere with this thing. This is what I did - plain and simple:

I installed the latest release (I would presume - I downloaded it about 2 days ago)
I edited my /etc/apt/sources.list per the instructions.

I get the following from the update manager:

Code: Select all

The repository may no longer be available or could not be contacted because of network problems. If available an older version of the failed index will be used. Otherwise the repository will be ignored. Check your network connection and ensure the repository address in the preferences is correct.

Release file expired, ignoring http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/dists/testing/Release (invalid since 36d 23h 26min 1s)


What's going on with this...? Any help would be appreciated.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6517
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby zerozero » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:55 pm

check here in the known issues viewtopic.php?f=187&t=76556&hilit=+testers
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3971
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby proxima_centauri » Wed Oct 12, 2011 3:56 pm

if in the above process you get an error saying

Code: Select all

E: Release file expired, ignoring http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/dists/testing/Release (invalid since xh xmin xs)

don't panic :lol: the fix is easy:

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/80mintupdate-debian

and put this line in there

Code: Select all

Acquire::Check-Valid-Until "false";

save, and the error should be gone

from -> viewtopic.php?f=141&t=76556

aelfinn
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 2:11 pm

Re: Update Pack 3 Released!

Postby aelfinn » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:58 am

proxima_centauri wrote:Why doesn’t the Update Manager alter my APT sources automatically?
We’re not confortable with updating your system configuration on your behalf. changing your repositories

Then why not simply have the updater *ask* the user if he wants the updater to do this for him? Seems like the straightforward solution…

ods_bswr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:04 am

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby ods_bswr » Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:55 am

I accidentally ran the update with the old sources.list. The system is still running, but could I run into problems later? I've changed the repos now.

grizzler
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Update Pack 3 Released! Update Information

Postby grizzler » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:51 am

Hard to predict with certainty. I've never had things break so far when I picked up later versions of some packages using the real Testing repos, but that probably means I've just been lucky.

From the thread where you posted your sources.list I gather you did have your main repository (second deb line) set to latest, so you're probably ok. The security repo hasn't had anything for quite a while and if the multimedia stuff was going to break your system it would have done so already. :-)


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests