<Solved>No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
feffer
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:49 pm

<Solved>No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by feffer » Tue May 14, 2013 7:17 pm

Just installed. Banshee detects my daapd music server and "plays" songs, but no sound. Sound settings shows "Dummy output." My sound-card is not seen or recognized (it's an on-board intell one, I think). I've always used alsa before, so I don't know how to trouble shoot pulse. Googling brought me to various "Ubuntu" answers, but I'm loath to try some of their convoluted suggestion beyond removing the .pulse dir and rebooting. This shouldn't really be so hard should it? I hate to drop back to alsa again after being told for several years that pulse is "the wave of the future." What to do?

thx
Last edited by feffer on Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by zerozero » Tue May 14, 2013 7:44 pm

what's the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Axx
====
usually with those intel cards (aclXXX) the following works

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
and add to the end

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
or

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=generic
reboot in-between changes and test sound
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

feffer
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:49 pm

Re: No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by feffer » Wed May 15, 2013 1:14 am

Code: Select all

#: /var/log# inxi -Axx
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller BusID: 05:00.1
           Card-2 Intel 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller BusID: 00:1b.0
Then I added this to modprobe.conf:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
Then reboot and sound is now working. It may have been a permissions/ownership problem. My system is configured like this:
/home/user/data/"all data files" data is a separate large drive with just data, no system files. The OS are in separate 10 gb partition on an SSD. The problem, I think is that I had ownership of data as "my_ user_name.share" rather than "my_ user_name.my_ user_name"

In any case, all is good now. Thx.

User avatar
cogier
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:51 am
Location: Guernsey

Re: <Solved>No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by cogier » Sat Nov 02, 2013 12:53 pm

I had no sound with Mint 16 on an Acer Extensa 5230 (Sound card Intel 82801I) and followed your advise and changed "options snd-hda-intel model=generic" to "options snd-hda-intel model=auto", rebooted and all was well.

Thanks, :)

urbanrambler
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:02 pm

Re: <Solved>No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by urbanrambler » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:33 pm

Had trouble with this solution until I changed the hyphens to underscores!

kelsinni
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 6:30 am
Location: Portugal

Re: <Solved>No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by kelsinni » Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:00 pm

Hi there,
im facing some problems too with my HDMI sound. Im running Linux Mint 17.1 Mate and it doesnt detect any sound card...

After run the follow command in terminal:
inxi -Axx

I got this output:
Audio: Card: NVIDIA MCP79 High Definition Audio bus-ID: 00:08.0

Can you please tell me what can i do for it works?

Thanks in advance

User avatar
Oscar799
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9963
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: <Solved>No sound device detected in LMDE 201303

Post by Oscar799 » Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:11 am

kelsinni
This thread is about LMDE not Main edition
They are different
Please post your question in Main Edition forum
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewforum.php?f=48
Image

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”