LMDE and Windoze 7

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby rdonnelly » Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:48 am

I am going to be getting a Lenevo Thinkcentre A700. I want to leave the Windoze on a seperate partion, and LMDE 64 on another. Will the install routine install GRUB and make it dual boot-able with out any problems?
The OS: Linux Mint 17.3 KDE
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob

User avatar
kc1di
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2290
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby kc1di » Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:56 am

It worked ok on my setup here have LMDE and Windoze 7 dual booting.
It's a little tricky getting it make windoze the default at boot though , you have to edit the /etc/defaults/grub.conf file. and then do a update-grub command.

I know the devs are very busy this time of year but it would be a great feature it they could include an app that would allow this to be done easily.
mandrava and PCLinuxOS do that very well.

Just a suggestion.
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon/Mate
Wireless Script: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2082305&p=12350385#post12350385

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5025
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon
Contact:

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby tdockery97 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:57 am

I am booting LMDE 64, Mint 10, and Windows 7 so yes, it works.
Image

rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby rdonnelly » Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:14 am

kc1di wrote:It worked ok on my setup here have LMDE and Windoze 7 dual booting.
It's a little tricky getting it make windoze the default at boot though , you have to edit the /etc/defaults/grub.conf file. and then do a update-grub command.

I know the devs are very busy this time of year but it would be a great feature it they could include an app that would allow this to be done easily.
mandrava and PCLinuxOS do that very well.

Just a suggestion.


If LMDE boots default, that is just fine with me :mrgreen:
The OS: Linux Mint 17.3 KDE
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob

User avatar
kc1di
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2290
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby kc1di » Thu Dec 30, 2010 12:08 pm

It should install and boot just fine.
enjoy :)
John 3:16
Morse code an Early Digital Mode
Registered Linux User #462608
LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon/Mate
Wireless Script: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2082305&p=12350385#post12350385

tacoz
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 12:38 am
Location: Zoolooland

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby tacoz » Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:36 am

Of course one can always install startupmanger...
I don't why it's just not done as part of the default installation.

User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: LMDE and Windoze 7

Postby ukbrian » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:35 pm

@tacoz
Good pointer, that app does everything most folk would want.
Be good if they updated the app to create a rescue CD/DVD rather than the floppy at the moment but a very handy tool. :D
ukbrian


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest