(solved) Installer wants to switch / from ext3 to ext4?...

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
beansandjeans
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:12 pm

(solved) Installer wants to switch / from ext3 to ext4?...

Postby beansandjeans » Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:40 am

So I'm installing LMDE for the first time, and noticed something a little odd...

I went ahead and partitioned the whole drive in Gparted, and made a / (root) partition as ext3, but then when I marked that partition as a mount point back in the LMDE installer, it automatically checks a box for "Format" and changes the partition label to ext4. So what's the deal? Are you only allowed to have an ext4 / partition with LMDE?...
Last edited by beansandjeans on Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
seeley
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:20 am

Re: Installer wants to switch / from ext3 to ext4?...

Postby seeley » Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:31 am

Hi!
We have a HOWTO:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=141&t=63013
Usually it is possible to choose the format.
seeley
seeley @ Linux multiboot

jeffreyC
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 322
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:34 pm

Re: Installer wants to switch / from ext3 to ext4?...

Postby jeffreyC » Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:38 pm

Any reason you want ext3 instead of ext4 ?

I'm asking because I switched to ext4 and my boot is 10 to 12 seconds faster with few to no other changes.
Get Dropbox and an extra 250 mb http://db.tt/wAizqw0

beansandjeans
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:12 pm

Re: Installer wants to switch / from ext3 to ext4?...

Postby beansandjeans » Wed Jan 12, 2011 1:14 am

Thanks seeley,

It looks like that should work now.

Jeffery, I've just always used ext3 I guess...Somehow thought maybe it was more stable or something, but maybe I should reconsider? I'll post another thread about that in the partitioning forum...


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests