Fresh VirtualBox error

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
thany
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:54 am

Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby thany » Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:06 am

I just freshly downloaded the latest LMDE x64 and set up a VM in VirtualBox. OS Type is Linux/Debian64. I gave it 2GB of RAM and 4 CPU's. Oughtta be enough. I left the rest default. Once the VM starts, it sits and waits at an error (see attachment) I don't quite understand. It waits for something like 2 minutes, then times out and continues (seemingly) normally.

I'm pretty sure other linux distro's don't wait for 2 minutes before booting... So I'm sure this is simething fixable.
Attachments
linux-mint-debian-virtualbox.png
linux-mint-debian-virtualbox.png (53.22 KiB) Viewed 979 times

thany
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:54 am

Re: Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby thany » Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:26 am

Oh wait, now it's really stuck. See attachment.

What do I do now?
Attachments
linux-mint-debian-virtualbox-stuck.png
linux-mint-debian-virtualbox-stuck.png (184.52 KiB) Viewed 976 times

User avatar
Habitual
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Youngstown, Ohio

Re: Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby Habitual » Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:31 pm

What version of Virtualbox please?
The procrastination report will be late?

kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 733
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby kwisher » Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:59 pm

Did you specify the o/s was 64-bit? The only time I had issues was when I did not specify the guest I was installing was 64-bit.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)

thany
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:54 am

Re: Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby thany » Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

This is Virtualbox 4.1.10. The host is 64-bit, the guest is 64-bit, and the OS type is set to "Linux - Debian (64-bit)".

Also, there's no HDD activity, and no notable amount of CPU time is being eaten. However, the guest is not "frozen". In fact, it's responsive as normally: the progressbar is still animating, and I can even open applications.

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby Monsta » Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:04 pm

This is looking so weird that I can only suggest installing some other distros (and maybe 32-bit instead of 64-bit ones) as guest, maybe trying out Linux version of VirtualBox, and writing a bug report to VirtualBox developers when you'll gather enough info.
Also, try installing VirtualBox from the previous branch - i.e. 4.0.x (the latest is 4.0.16 at the moment).

thany
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:54 am

Re: Fresh VirtualBox error

Postby thany » Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:36 am

Alright. VB from the previous branch doesn't look like a very good idea. It will break my other VM's.

I think it'd be best if the Linux Mint team and the VirtualBox developers work this out together. Yes the problem is with me, but I'm no expert at either system.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests