Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
tiantian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:12 pm

Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by tiantian »

Hello , I've just installed LMDE and noticed that pinta isn't included which came as quite a surprise. I'm rather fond of pinta, a simple easy to use image
editor that has been able to do most of things I need. Is there any way I can install this safely on LMDE?

I tried checking the main pinta pages but it's completely inacessible to me here in China. Maybe blocked or gimped in some other way.
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4406
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by vrkalak »

Yes. :D

I have Pinta installed with my LMDE-Xfce. I like Pinta, it is better than GIMP. IMO

You can easy download and install with Synaptic Package Manager > search for Pinta
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page
tiantian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:12 pm

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by tiantian »

Thanks for the reply, but it's not there on my system. I downloaded the latest released version of LMDE last night. When I search for pinta in software manager or synaptic it's not there. For some reason they offer me wigeon and microbiomeutil. Where has it gone? I half thought maybe it was only compatible with original mint, but if others have it on LMDE it must be my system hiding packages from me?
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4406
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by vrkalak »

Is your LMDE set to 'Debian-Testing' (default)

Possibly, Pinta (or any other App) is not release for stable or testing but only for unstable.

As far as, I know their are no 'hidden' App and/or Packages.
Pinta is in the LMDE Repros. (I checked)

My LMDE is set to Debian-Sid (unstable)
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page
tiantian
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:12 pm

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by tiantian »

Thanks that's something I wasn't aware of.

I'm trying to set the system to unstable packages but I seem to be missing something. Ok so I went into software sources under optional components made sure unstable sources (romeo) has a x against it (which it seems to by default) then sudo apt-get update sudo apt-get upgrade. Try install sudo apt-get install pinta - but there's nothing there. What am I doing wrong?
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3058
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by Monsta »

Pinta has been removed from Debian Testing repos on 2013-12-03 hence it's indeed not available in LMDE now. Later it has been added to Debian Testing repos again, so you can get it from there.
User avatar
darknetmatrix
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:10 pm

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by darknetmatrix »

I have installed pinta from here:
https://packages.debian.org/squeeze/pinta
and it doesn't work :(
HP Z400 Workstation
LinuxMint 20 & LMDE
kurotsugi
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:54 am

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by kurotsugi »

that's terrifrying...squeeze is even older than wheezy. anyway, pinta is now on debian testing you can try to grab it from there.
Gunstick
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 6:39 am

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by Gunstick »

Hi

I'm new to LMDE, and pinta is not there, and not sure how to get debian testing.
In the repositories list there is:
deb http://packages.linuxmint.com debian main upstream import romeo
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/ testing main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/security testing/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://debian.linuxmint.com/latest/multimedia testing main non-free
deb http://extra.linuxmint.com debian main

Well it says testing... but no pinta
# apt-cache search pinta
microbiomeutil - Microbiome Analysis Utilities
wigeon - reimplementation of the Pintail 16S DNA anomaly detection utility
#
sangorys
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 11:29 am

Re: Is Pinta compatible with LMDE?

Post by sangorys »

+1 => I have the same issue


Pinta was in LMDE. My SSD crashed and today Pinta is not in the depot anymore. :(


How to install Pinta ?


Thank you in advance
Locked

Return to “LMDE Archive”