Repository conflict?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Locked
alobo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:17 am

Repository conflict?

Post by alobo »

Hi!
I've been advised in debian-gis list to include
deb http://http.debian.net/debian/ testing main contrib non-free

for packages like qgis, But also have been warned about possible conflicts with repos that are
included in LMDE by default:
"Disclaimer: We do not have any idea whether it is a sensible way to mix
linuxmint and pristine Debian packages. You probably need to fiddle
around with apt_preferences(5) to make sure you will only install those
Debian packages you explicitly want to have. Most probably you will
find advise about mixing Debian and linuxmint on a linuxmint related
forum. We are *not* the experts in this field."

What should I do?
Using LMDE MATE 32 bits installed few weeks ago (cannot tell the actual version or release, cannot find that info anywhere, even not in the welcome screen)

Thanks

Agus
Last edited by karlchen on Tue Aug 19, 2014 4:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added missing "o" in "Repository" ;-)
User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by PatH57 »

Hi,

try this:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/*release
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.
alobo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:17 am

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by alobo »

I get:

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/*release
DISTRIB_ID=LinuxMint
DISTRIB_RELEASE=1
DISTRIB_CODENAME=debian
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="LMDE MATE Edition"
PRETTY_NAME="Linux Mint LMDE"
NAME="Linux Mint LMDE"
ID=linuxmint
ANSI_COLOR="1;31"
But please note this is not the main issue.
Thanks
PatH57 wrote:Hi,

try this:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/*release
Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3064
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by Monsta »

alobo wrote:What should I do?
Add Debian Testing repo, install qgis or whatever you want, remove Debian Testing repo.
User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5398
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by killer de bug »

PatH57 wrote: try this:

Code: Select all

cat /etc/*release
I honestly don't see the point of this...


As monsta said, in this situation it is always better to add the testing/sid repo, install what you want from these repo (be careful don't mess everything, look carefully at the dependencies which will be installed) and then disable the repo just to be sure you will not upgrade toward Debian testing without knowing it... :wink:
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.
alobo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:17 am

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by alobo »

killer de bug wrote:
PatH57 wrote: .../...
As monsta said, in this situation it is always better to add the testing/sid repo, install what you want from these repo (be careful don't mess everything, look carefully at the dependencies which will be installed) and then disable the repo just to be sure you will not upgrade toward Debian testing without knowing it... :wink:
I get a very different opinion from the debian-gis list:
***message1 from debian-gis****
"If you want to get QGIS on LMDE that should get you there, but it's not
very good advice.

Installing QGIS from the Debian repo will pull in a lot of dependencies
that are outdated in LMDE, and none of them will be updated after you
remove the Debian repo.

For something that claims to be a "semi-rolling distribution" their
testing snapshot is hopelessly outdated. Switching to Debian testing
proper is claimed to be supported:

"
Updates are constantly fed to Debian Testing, where users experience
frequent regressions but also frequent bug fixes and improvements. LMDE
receives "Update Packs" which are tested snapshots of Debian Testing.
Users can experience a more stable system thanks to update packs, or
switch their sources to follow Testing, or even Unstable, directly to
get more frequent updates.
"

http://www.linuxmint.com/download_lmde.php

> Bas:
> Do you mean I should unselect the 3 repos you mention?
> Which ones should I include instead?
> Kind of worried by your answer.

If you want to switch to Debian testing proper, you should disable the
Linux Mint specific repos and add the Debian testing and
testing-security repos.

If you only want QGIS from Debian you should follow the advice as given:
add the Debian repo, install qgis, remove debian repo.
"
***end of message1 from debian-gis****

Furthermore, they kind of advice me to go to Debian testing (I thought LMDE was Debian testing!!):
***message2 from debian-gis****
"
They have apparently realized this themselves:

"
After a long reflection and many discussions the decision was made to
switch Linux Mint Debian Edition (LMDE) from its current snapshot cycle
to a Debian Stable package base. The transition from Update Pack 8 to
Debian Jessie should be smooth and similar to a traditional UP upgrade,
in sync with the upstream Jessie freeze planned for November this year.
"
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2671

They've documented how to switch from the now obsolete Update Packs to
Debian testing proper, see:

http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2544
"
***end of message2 from debian-gis****

Do you also advice me to go for Debian testing considering I will need many
of the debian-gis packages?
Why don't I have update 8 if I installed LMDE just few weeks ago?
Actually, how can I check if I have update8 or not?
User avatar
PatH57
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4572
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:11 pm
Location: here and there

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by PatH57 »

You could check what main Debian release you are tracking by looking at Software Sources, the file /etc/apt/sources.list or the Update Manager. Most likely, it will be either Testing, Incoming or Latest. All of those are essentially Debian Testing (Wheezy). Other than that, LMDE has no version. It's a rolling release after all.

Code: Select all

inxi -S
will display some information
and check this:
Find the System Monitor applet in the menu and click on it. Once System Monitor has started, click on the System tab. (couldn't check it as I'm reloading my LMDE on a new machine).
People disagree with me. I just ignore them.
(Linus Torvalds, regarding the use of C++ for the Linux kernel.)

Please Add [Solved] to the topic-title of your first post when appropriate so others know they might find a solution here.
alobo
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:17 am

Re: Repository conflict?

Post by alobo »

My file /etc/apt/sources.list has one single line:
#/etc/apt/sources.list
(and this is how it is just after installation of LMDE)
The inxi command and the System Monitor applet just state Linux Mint Release 1 (Debian) Kernel Linux 3.11-2-486
The Update Manager/Update Pack Info states:
Your System configuration: Your system is pointing to the "Linux Mint Debian Latest" repository
Current update Pack available: 8
Latest Update Pack used by this system: 8

...which indicates that update pack8 has been installed.
But, then , why don't I have the Testing repositories?
Shouldn't I have the repos listed in
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2544 ?

Should I include the repos listed in http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2544 manually?

Then, including
deb http://http.debian.net/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
would not be a source of incompatibilities or perhaps I would just find qgis
in those repos. Right?

I'm so confused...

PatH57 wrote:You could check what main Debian release you are tracking by looking at Software Sources, the file /etc/apt/sources.list or the Update Manager. Most likely, it will be either Testing, Incoming or Latest. All of those are essentially Debian Testing (Wheezy). Other than that, LMDE has no version. It's a rolling release after all.

Code: Select all

inxi -S
will display some information
and check this:
Find the System Monitor applet in the menu and click on it. Once System Monitor has started, click on the System tab. (couldn't check it as I'm reloading my LMDE on a new machine).
Locked