Skype on 64-bit LMDE

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
setarkos
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:43 pm

Skype on 64-bit LMDE

Postby setarkos » Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:47 pm

Hi there,
The title says it all - couldn't find anything up to date via search. Does Skype work on the new 64-bit LMDE or does it mess up with the libraries? Is there a stable proper fix (don't care about video)?
Thanks

wil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:26 am

Re: Skype on 64-bit LMDE

Postby wil » Sun Jun 19, 2011 11:32 am

Works for me, I only use it for chat though.

The skype test call seems to work fine, haven't tried the video.

I do occasionally come across things that don't seem to work under 64bit, skype seems to work just fine though.

setarkos
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:43 pm

Re: Skype on 64-bit LMDE

Postby setarkos » Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:19 pm

wil wrote:Works for me, I only use it for chat though.

The skype test call seems to work fine, haven't tried the video.

I do occasionally come across things that don't seem to work under 64bit, skype seems to work just fine though.


What problems did you have? Which programs didn't work?

wil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:26 am

Re: Skype on 64-bit LMDE

Postby wil » Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:01 am

Well flash seems to be a bit of an issue. Youtube seems to work fine, other flash is pretty jankey. I don't have a 32bit machine to compare it to but seems that plenty of folks complain about flash on 64bit linux. It doesn't bother me enough to go 32bit though.

Also my companies VPN software (Sonicwall NetExtender) apparently has a 32bit client, doesn't work on 64bit.

Other than that, things seem to be fine.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests