virtual box

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
nairb100
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:40 am

virtual box

Postby nairb100 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:44 am

Hi guys. Can anyone advise , which would be better to dual boot lmde with vista or loading if poss vista on virtualbox.
don't need vista for internet just photoshop and a graphic tablet. Wouldn't need vista if I could get a graphics tablet
to work, tried 4 different ones and spent hours no joy.
Thanks in advance.
Bri

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19709
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: virtual box

Postby xenopeek » Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:00 am

If you only use Vista for photoshop & graphic tablet (one application), I would suggest you install Linux Mint and run Vista through VirtualBox. You can enjoy Linux Mint for all other applications with highest speed and security :D And if you disconnect Vista from internet access, and don't install any other software, you can increase its speed also by running without anti virus software (but only if you keep it disconnected from internet and don't install any other software but photoshop).

BTW have you tried a Wacom tablet? I got mine to work with this help: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wacom
It works perfectly in GIMP also.
Image

LifeInTheGrey
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:38 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: virtual box

Postby LifeInTheGrey » Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:59 am

It all depends on how much ram you have ... if you have less than 1.5gb that you can allocate to a VM safely, I'd dual-boot. That said, if you have plenty of memory to work with, the new VBox (version 4.1) runs incredibly smoothly, and even has experimental Aero support. And really, unless you're gaming, WIndows runs better in a virtual environment anyway.
the beauty of linux is that the rabbit hole goes as deep as you want it to go.

kaizer
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:49 am

Re: virtual box

Postby kaizer » Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:03 am

VM is fine for running apps but I am not sure you will be able to properly accesss your trable though usb connexion in a virtual environment. If you manage to do this please let me know.

nairb100
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:40 am

Re: virtual box

Postby nairb100 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:05 pm

Hi guys. Thanks for the replies, will respond with the results, but it may take a day or three.
Bri


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests