No sound through HDMI cable

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

No sound through HDMI cable

Postby sdim » Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:26 pm

Hi, everyone.
Recently installed the latest LMDE and I'm very pleased with everything, except a strange issue which I can't explain.
The monitor is connected with the pc through an HDMI cable which is fine, as far as imaging is concerned.
The thing is that I have no sound through the HDMI cable, although I select High Definition Audio from the Sound preferences.
The sound works fine through the on-board sound card, though.
Any solutions?
Many thanks in advance.

P.S. Sorry, I just saw the Sound sub-forum. I should have posted it there.
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 17.3 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby Gerd50 » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:44 pm

Hi sdim,

Without information about your sound card solutions impossible. What do you get with

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards

?
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1

User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby sdim » Fri Sep 23, 2011 3:47 am

Thanks, Gerd50. Here it is:

Code: Select all

0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfcff4000 irq 16
 1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfe97c000 irq 19
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 17.3 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

User avatar
akaawol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:15 am

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby akaawol » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:25 am

I to have this problem.
0 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0x90900000 irq 46

can I get advised to please?

User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby Gerd50 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:51 am

@sdim, in gnome-alsamixer do you have an option IEC958 and if is it enabled?
What do you get with

Code: Select all

lspci -v | grep VGA

and

Code: Select all

aplay -l


@akaawol, i don't know whether it could be helpful for you, if we search for a (i think) ATI solution here. Maybe it's better
to open an own thread for your card and controller.
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1

User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby sdim » Fri Sep 23, 2011 9:48 am

Yes, IEC958 is the Internal Audio Analog Stereo which plays OK.
I get

Code: Select all

sd@sd ~ $ lspci -v | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT215 [GeForce GT 240] (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

and

Code: Select all

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 17.3 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

User avatar
Gerd50
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 734
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 3:42 pm
Location: Fishtown, Germany

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby Gerd50 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 12:36 pm

I have found a howto HDMI ATI for Crunchbang. As Cb is Debian based i think you could give it a try

http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic ... orking-in/
I believe in everything, except humans.

LM9, Debian Testing Xfce, Debian Sid Xfce - CPU/Amd64 2,6Ghz, Graphics/Nvidia 9600 GT, Sound/SB Audigy4 emu10K1

User avatar
sdim
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby sdim » Fri Sep 23, 2011 5:43 pm

Many thanks, Gerd50.
I will look into it.
MB:MSI 770 C-45 / HD1:500 GB-->Windows / HD2:320 GB-->Mint 17.3 Cinnamon
CPU:AMD X4 640 3.00 GHz / RAM:4.0 GB / VGA: NVidia GeForce GT630

carol14
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:09 am

Re: No sound through HDMI cable

Postby carol14 » Thu Oct 11, 2012 12:28 am

HDMI is typically used to connect a high-definition device--such as an HD DVR--to an HDTV. To make the connection, you simply put one end of the cable into the HDTV's HDMI input slot and the other end into the device's HDMI output slot. Thanks.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests