newer firefox?

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
tatewatkins
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:59 am

newer firefox?

Postby tatewatkins » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:41 pm

Currently LMDE is on firefox 5, is it possible to get the latest?

Endogen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Endogen » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:45 pm

Download the newest version from the mozilla website and run it. thats it. But done this way, firefox doesnt find the flash plugin... dont know how to change that :-/

User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1309
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: newer firefox?

Postby wyrdoak » Thu Oct 06, 2011 5:47 pm

I just had an upgrade to Iceweasel 7
-Dell Mini Inspiron 910 Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(LinixMint-17.1: KDE)

tatewatkins
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:59 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby tatewatkins » Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:03 pm

Endogen wrote:Download the newest version from the mozilla website and run it. thats it. But done this way, firefox doesnt find the flash plugin... dont know how to change that :-/


That's not very user friendly then :/

User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 740
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK
Contact:

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Roken » Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:47 pm

I have to say, after using FF for more years than I care to remember, I finally decided to give iceweasel a go, and it's perfectly fine. Version in testing is 7.0.1-2 - which is FF 7.0.1-2 - so pretty much up to date.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image

tatewatkins
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:59 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby tatewatkins » Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:02 am

Where are you installing that from? Didn't realise it was firefox just a rebrand. Repo only has v5

Lippy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:28 pm

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Lippy » Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:25 am

If you are pointing to Mint Latest which is the default option, then you should be on Update Pack 3, which I think still has Iceweasel 5.0. Those of us who are on Iceweasel 7.0 are either pointing to Debian Testing or are using the package from Debian Mozilla. Pointing to Debian Testing isn't recommended because you can get breakages there. However, if you can't wait for the next Update Pack, you might want to try using the Debian Mozilla package to get the latest version of Iceweasel. It can be found at http://mozilla.debian.net/.

Hope that helps. :)
LMDE (tracking Testing) with Cinnamon; Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Nvidia GeForce GTX 260 (using Nouveau)

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Monsta » Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:26 am

Endogen wrote:Download the newest version from the mozilla website and run it. thats it. But done this way, firefox doesnt find the flash plugin... dont know how to change that :-/

I'm curious... did you try the Flash-Aid extension?

Endogen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Endogen » Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:49 am

Monsta wrote:I'm curious... did you try the Flash-Aid extension?

Not yet, i just tried installing flashplugin-nonfree and mint-flashplugin and playing around with symlinks and the different plugin folders for firefox. Will give it a try and report back.

EDIT: Works fine! Have flash on firefox 7.0.1 now! GREAT! Thanks for the hint.

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Monsta » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:27 am

You're welcome. :)

Arran
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Arran » Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:02 pm

Endogen wrote:Download the newest version from the mozilla website and run it. thats it.


Is it possible someone explains me how to run such a file? That would be very great.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Arran

OS: Mint xfce, Graphic: Nvidia 4800-GS, Monitor: HP ZR30w (2550x1600 px), «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!

User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 740
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Oldham, UK
Contact:

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Roken » Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:46 pm

In the case of firefox (and thunderbird) just use archive manager to extract the archive to wherever you want it (for example, your home partition) which will create a folder called firefox. Then to run it:

Code: Select all

~/firefox/firefox


You can create a laumcher or menu item to run it without having to go through the terminal. Just remember to use the full path, otherwise the installed version will run instead.
Kernel Linux Tex 3.2.2-1 (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
ATI Radeon HD 4670, 1GB
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked)
8Gb RAM
Image

Endogen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Endogen » Fri Oct 07, 2011 7:57 pm

Arran wrote:Is it possible someone explains me how to run such a file? That would be very great.


Extract the archive, doubleclick the file "firefox"

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: newer firefox?

Postby craigevil » Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:48 pm

1) download Firefox from Mozilla, extract, create a shortcut (simplest way, since it autoupdates)
or
2) Use the mozilla.debian.net repo and install a newer version of Iceweasel
3) Also see Tech Patterns :: Switching from Debian Iceweasel to Firefox, permanently - http://techpatterns.com/forums/about1435.html
or
4) Use the Mepis repo which has Firefox 7
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

Arran
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Arran » Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:33 am

Hi craig evil
thanks for your response. how can I use this mepis repo with LMDE? This is probably the best way for me.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Arran

OS: Mint xfce, Graphic: Nvidia 4800-GS, Monitor: HP ZR30w (2550x1600 px), «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!

User avatar
Mike54
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 6:12 am
Location: Lafayette, Indiana U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Mike54 » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:42 am

I've been running the Mozilla Nightly builds of Firefox for months and found a simple way to make everything work, without having to use CLI for anything. it will also leave the old Firefox install in place, just in case something goes wrong. I don't use any add-ons or extensions with Firefox, so I don't lose anything by running these builds.

I grab the tar.bz2 file from here - http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... est-trunk/

I then close Firefox.

Click Menu > Home Folder > File System > right-click the opt folder and select Open as administrator.

Right-click the firefox folder and rename it to firefox-old.

Drag the tar.bz2 into the opt folder, right-click it and select Extract Here.

Once the new firefox folder has been set up, delete the tar.bz2 file from opt.

I can then open the latest Nightly build of Mozilla Firefox.

I do the same thing with the EarlyBird versions of Thunderbird, which can be downloaded here - http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... earlybird/

If I open the latest build and there are issues, it is as simple as deleting the build and renaming the folders, to get the previous versions working. Every now and again, I do find a Nightly build that is buggy, but I just report the bugs, revert to an earlier version and drive on for another 24 hours, until the next build becomes available.
Image

User avatar
CapitalG
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:02 am

Re: newer firefox?

Postby CapitalG » Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:55 pm

what a pain :? glad i use chrome :D

Endogen
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:37 pm

Re: newer firefox?

Postby Endogen » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:26 pm

CapitalG wrote:what a pain :? glad i use chrome :D


TRUE! Automatic updates guaranteed and you can always have the latest developer version, no problem...


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests