LMDE KDE version

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
lubor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:51 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

LMDE KDE version

Postby lubor » Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:05 am

Hi,

Does anybody know, when the LMDE KDE version will be released?
If the LMDE KDE version already exists, where I can find LMDE KDE iso images?

Thanks

Arran
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby Arran » Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:06 am

Yes. I know. Once the Developer Team thinks they are ready. So, be patient. :lol: :mrgreen: :roll:
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Arran

OS: Mint xfce, Graphic: Nvidia 4800-GS, Monitor: HP ZR30w (2550x1600 px), «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!

User avatar
Fandangio
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:20 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby Fandangio » Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:12 am

There is not going to be a Debian edition, the next KDE release will be based on Ubuntu
AMD Phenom (tm) II x4 965 | 4GB DDR3 | NVIDIA GTS 450 4GB DDR3 | ASUS M4A88T-M

Arran
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 4:24 am

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby Arran » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:23 pm

Give us your source, please.
Best greetings from Scotlands nicest Holiday Isle
Arran

OS: Mint xfce, Graphic: Nvidia 4800-GS, Monitor: HP ZR30w (2550x1600 px), «Broadband» Ø 50kib/sec!!!

asymmetros
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:34 pm
Location: athens

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby asymmetros » Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:14 am

Unfortunately, that 's the case. :( See post 15: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1908 I did not bothet to ask why. :twisted:

So, if you want LMDE KDE, start with Mint Xfce and then add kde-standard desktop. Or, install pure debian testing and then add the linux mint packages you want. (i prefer the latter but there is a matter of taste). :wink:
Sid Mint Xfce -32, Openbox, KDE, Enlightenment, Liquorix Kernel
HP Compaq Presario cq71, Intel Core 2 Duo T4400 @ 2.2 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 103M

whirly
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:20 pm

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby whirly » Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:34 am

i started playing with the gnome shell group
this required a sid upgrade
then i found out i could also use kde as a completetely different desktop
all very fun and quite painless if you do it right
however 'right' seems to be different for each system
i didn't go kde full but went kde plasma desktop
because i don't want all that super cool stuff,just most of it
all works excellently
gnome 3.2
kde 4:7.2 which equals 8 in debian land
it's all in previous posts
you need the snapshot repo
qt-kde experimental
after that i think apt gets updates like normal
it's fun but you have to learn stuff

User avatar
Rafe
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:56 pm

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby Rafe » Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:55 am

asymmetros wrote:Unfortunately, that 's the case. :( See post 15: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1908 I did not bothet to ask why. :twisted:

So, if you want LMDE KDE, start with Mint Xfce and then add kde-standard desktop. Or, install pure debian testing and then add the linux mint packages you want. (i prefer the latter but there is a matter of taste). :wink:


Would you provide more detail about the steps, please? I grow ever more weary of re-booting after LMDE Gnome locks up.

asymmetros
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:34 pm
Location: athens

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby asymmetros » Sun Dec 25, 2011 4:59 pm

Rafe wrote:
asymmetros wrote:Unfortunately, that 's the case. :( See post 15: http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=1908 I did not bothet to ask why. :twisted:

So, if you want LMDE KDE, start with Mint Xfce and then add kde-standard desktop. Or, install pure debian testing and then add the linux mint packages you want. (i prefer the latter but there is a matter of taste). :wink:


Would you provide more detail about the steps, please? I grow ever more weary of re-booting after LMDE Gnome locks up.



You can install LMDE Xfce, remove the applications you do not want and then install kde-standard-desktop. Be aware that, during the installation, it is far better to select kdm as login manager when you asked for this. Then, remove (and) gdm3. Do not start from LMDE gnome -(unless you have it installed already). It has more gnome dependencies.

If you want to start from Debian, there is a very good tutorial: http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/view/197

PS: I ve tried both ways. No problems either way.
Sid Mint Xfce -32, Openbox, KDE, Enlightenment, Liquorix Kernel
HP Compaq Presario cq71, Intel Core 2 Duo T4400 @ 2.2 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 103M

lubor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:51 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby lubor » Mon Dec 26, 2011 6:43 am

Thanks for reply,

Is there any way how to install LMDE without desktop environment and after that install environment i want?

asymmetros
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:34 pm
Location: athens

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby asymmetros » Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:04 pm

lubor wrote:Thanks for reply,

Is there any way how to install LMDE without desktop environment and after that install environment i want?


No. That's why i suggested the other way around, to install first debian and "mintify" it. Anyway, the good thing is that Mint Xfce is more minimal than Mint Gnome -mainly cause Xfce has fewer dependencies than gnome, Of course, it comes with some gnome applications (banshee or rhythmbox, eog, gedit,,) but it is easy to remove them and then install what you want.

Finally, when we are talking for a rolling distro the system is completely yours cause you do not have to re-install and to deal again with unwanted applications. For example, in my mint debian system, i have installed Xfce, Openbox, KDE and E17.
Sid Mint Xfce -32, Openbox, KDE, Enlightenment, Liquorix Kernel
HP Compaq Presario cq71, Intel Core 2 Duo T4400 @ 2.2 GHz, 3 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 103M

davedarkblade
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:30 am

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby davedarkblade » Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:37 pm

Kde packages are in the LATEST repo of LMDE?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby zerozero » Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:13 pm

@davedarkblade,
you should have in latest kde 4.6.5 (the same i have available here in testing)
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

davedarkblade
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:30 am

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby davedarkblade » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:31 am

I also find this repo: http://qt-kde.debian.net/
If I understand works with the repo sid/experimental, however, could possibly also work alongside the latest repo LMDE.
Another little question: if i want remove all the gnome stuff, how can i do?

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6514
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby zerozero » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:30 am

we have a topic about qt-kde.debian (and kde 4.7.2) here
but that repo is to be used with sid (any other combination is at your own risk).
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

davedarkblade
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 7:30 am

Re: LMDE KDE version

Postby davedarkblade » Thu Dec 29, 2011 7:37 am

Sorry i've missed this topic.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests