[SOLVED] building Cinnamon (sid)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Locked
User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:54 pm

It looks like panel launchers are coming soon.

Following the tutorial, I made a few as applets. Hopefully they won't be useful very long. :lol:

Just extract the folder into your cinnamon applets directory:

Code: Select all

cd ~/.local/share/cinnamon/applets/    # for all users: /usr/share/cinnamon/applets/
tar xzvf path/to/downloaded/file.tar.gz
The new applets will be available in the settings manager. No need to restart.

EDIT: these are deprecated by the Panel Launchers applet. Simply right-click --> Add to create a custom launcher.

Chromium --- gedit --- Google Chrome --- Pidgin --- Thunderbird

Image
Last edited by mockturtl on Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Image

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by xircon » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:03 pm

Any ideas on how Cinnamon is blanking the screen? Tried to watch a stream of the Rugby League today, but the screen keeps blanking on a regular basis.

Code: Select all

 ps aux | grep screensaver
molly2   24514  0.0  0.0   7796   880 pts/0    S+   21:57   0:00 grep --colour=auto screensaver
So nothing there.

I renamed gnome-screensaver so it does not run any more and was running xscreensaver (but I killed it).

Also I am getting no sound from my HDMI port, don't think this is related to Cinnamon (will investigate more tomorrow).

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:35 pm

xircon wrote:Any ideas on how Cinnamon is blanking the screen? Tried to watch a stream of the Rugby League today, but the screen keeps blanking on a regular basis.

Code: Select all

 ps aux | grep screensaver
molly2   24514  0.0  0.0   7796   880 pts/0    S+   21:57   0:00 grep --colour=auto screensaver
So nothing there.

I renamed gnome-screensaver so it does not run any more and was running xscreensaver (but I killed it).

Also I am getting no sound from my HDMI port, don't think this is related to Cinnamon (will investigate more tomorrow).

Cheers

Steve
Maybe gnome-control-center --> Power?

(I see mention of a gnome-power-manager...

Code: Select all

$ apt-cache policy gnome-power-manager 
gnome-power-manager:
  Installed: 3.2.1-2
  Candidate: 3.2.1-2
  Version table:
 *** 3.2.1-2 0
        700 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
$ gnome-power-manager
The program 'gnome-power-manager' is currently not installed.  To run 'gnome-power-manager' please ask your administrator to install the package 'gnome-power-manager'
gnome-power-manager: command not found

...which appears to be some sort of graphical user interface for Schrödinger's box.)

:?:
Image

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by xircon » Sat Feb 11, 2012 6:41 pm

I get program not found if I try to run gnome-power-manager as well.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by GregE » Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:39 am

I am running Chrome Unstable and while fiddling with plugins discovered support for Gnome Shell extensions. Handy, but the interesting entry was the next one - support for Cinnamon extensions via a web interface.

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:45 pm

GregE wrote:I am running Chrome Unstable and while fiddling with plugins discovered support for Gnome Shell extensions. Handy, but the interesting entry was the next one - support for Cinnamon extensions via a web interface.
Neat find! Doesn't look like they've finished rebranding it yet. https://github.com/linuxmint/Cinnamon/t ... ser-plugin
Image

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by zerozero » Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:19 pm

don't bother to compile cinnamon atm, it's kinda broken: the migration to applet API specially the 10th and 13th Fev commits leaves yesterday snapshot like this (if you are wandering what's wrong :lol: watch the panel :shock: )
Image
worst, somehow, uninstalling, purging, whatever and installing an older build does the same.

so everything now is an applet (and they are disabled by default right now, well they were yesterday :mrgreen: )
Image Image
ok, so now it's easy, just tick the boxes, get the applets back and we're done
Image
:lol: almost, the applets are centered in the panel :lol: :mrgreen: if you like that unbalanced display, job done, otherwise
Image
and look for this
Image
and make it look like this
Image

hope this helps :wink:
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:41 pm

Image

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by zerozero » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:05 pm

mockturtl wrote:Uh-oh. :lol:
:mrgreen:
clefebvre authored an hour ago
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:14 pm

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8181658/cinnamu ... ezy.tar.gz
md5: a866a220371bd0e0a36c7591b5b37987

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8181658/cinnamu ... ezy.tar.gz
md5: 001771c5cdd075cd9f9af7d02b2450e4

I had to apply layout fixes (see ZZ's last post -- that's dconf-editor, installed with the dconf-tools package).

This seems to be the intended default value, from the commit log:

org.cinnamon::enabled-applets

Code: Select all

['panel1:left:0:menu@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:left:1:show-desktop@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:left:2:panel-launchers@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:left:3:window-list@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:0:keyboard@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:1:bluetooth@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:2:network@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:3:sound@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:4:power@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:right:0:calendar@cinnamon.org']
Image

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:21 pm

I don't see bluetooth or keyboard applet icons on either of my machines. (Toggling them in cinnamon-settings has no visible effect.) Anybody else?
Image

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by xircon » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:33 pm

I can sort all of the dependencies except for "folks" - no package found (and I can't find either!). Ideas?

:Edit: Sorted, building deb now after installing more crap :)

:Edit2: Build successful, installed and working, thanks Mockturtl, copied and pasted the line from your post, straight into dconf-editor.
Last edited by xircon on Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by AlbertP » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:24 pm

That's libfolks-dev. Synaptic indeed didn't show the package at me (mint 12) when just typing folks.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by xircon » Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:30 pm

Yes, strange that, but if you put in lib.... it works.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by GregE » Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:57 pm

Is there any way to improve the fonts in the menu and on the toolbar? In Gnome-Shell I was able to make a huge difference just by moving text scaling to 1.1. Using Ice Cream Shell as theme resulted in good font rendering for the Applications page and the pull down system menu (your name) and the text in the top toolbar. Cinnamon menu and MGSE before it have always been fuzzy under LMDE for me, using Intel, Nvidia and ATI.

There must be a .conf file that specifies font.

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by xircon » Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:15 pm

In the cinnamon.css file of your theme?
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by GregE » Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:30 am

Thanks Steve, I changed default font from canterall to droid and increased the font sizes from 8.5 to 10 and 9.5 to 12 and I think it looks way better and the fonts look smooth. It makes the toolbar a fraction bigger as well, but on a 1920x1080 screen it is an improvement.

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by mockturtl » Thu Feb 16, 2012 4:08 pm

Drag and drop applets. Send window to workspace. System tray is an applet (look for the mintupdate icon). [log]

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8181658/cinnamu ... ezy.tar.gz
md5: b8bd103721ff0f196c74e3ddf1b19f52

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8181658/cinnamu ... ezy.tar.gz
md5: baecf7de68b73b6458b7a6d82473b3db

Latest panel layout -- dragging to rearrange and/or toggling applets from cinnamon-settings will dirty this value:

org.cinnamon::enabled-applets

Code: Select all

['panel1:left:0:menu@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:left:1:show-desktop@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:left:2:panel-launchers@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:left:3:window-list@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:0:keyboard@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:1:bluetooth@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:2:network@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:3:sound@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:center:4:power@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:right:0:systray@cinnamon.org', 'panel1:right:1:calendar@cinnamon.org']
Image

GregE
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:24 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by GregE » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:16 pm

Third party applets do not move. So weather and places on my toolbar will not move, but the others will jump around them. Quick launch icons can be moved as well.

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 768
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: building Cinnamon (sid)

Post by xircon » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:42 pm

Think they are extensions, rather than applets, can't check as I didn't reinstall after my crash.

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

Locked

Return to “LMDE 1 Archive”