[Solved] Sound issues (LMDE xfce)

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
Ness
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:05 pm

[Solved] Sound issues (LMDE xfce)

Postby Ness » Tue Jan 03, 2012 10:58 pm

Hello guru's. I've been having an issue with my sound since I've installed Linux. For some reason, whenever I start an application the first one I start is the only one that plays any sound. So for an example in step-by-step..

- I open TeamSpeak (Gaming chat client) and the sound works.
- I open any other program (ie. Minecraft, VLC Media Player) and theres no sound.

This also works the same vice-versa. I did a bit of Googling and found how to get my Sound card information..

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xd0400000 irq 16
 1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xd0310000 irq 19


Any ideas? Thank you!

Edit: [Solved]
RESOLUTION
--------------------------------
Uninstalled PulseAudio and just used ALSA instead.
Last edited by Ness on Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:36 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Ness
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:05 pm

Re: Sound issues (LMDE xfce)

Postby Ness » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:34 pm

Did I post this in the wrong forum by chance?

User avatar
Lendo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Snow Covered Canada

Re: Sound issues (LMDE xfce)

Postby Lendo » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:55 pm

viewtopic.php?f=197&t=60485

Sometimes that's an issue with PulseAudio. You may want to use this how to and use Alsa instead. Read through it, there's a mention of using multi stream sound.

Edit

Actually it's about mixing, but all my problems with sound are from PulseAudio.
Life is too short to waste it on Microsoft.

User avatar
Ness
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:05 pm

Re: Sound issues (LMDE xfce)

Postby Ness » Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:31 pm

Lendo wrote:http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=197&t=60485

Sometimes that's an issue with PulseAudio. You may want to use this how to and use Alsa instead. Read through it, there's a mention of using multi stream sound.

Edit

Actually it's about mixing, but all my problems with sound are from PulseAudio.


Wowww that fixed it! Thank you so much!

User avatar
Lendo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:47 pm
Location: Snow Covered Canada

Re: <Solved> Sound issues (LMDE xfce)

Postby Lendo » Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:02 pm

I'm glad I could help :D
Life is too short to waste it on Microsoft.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests