Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:52 pm

LMDE tracking sid.

All Chromium based browsers are grinding my system to a halt, Firefox is OK - any one else seeing this?

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby mockturtl » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:18 pm

I saw it in recent 18.x releases in wheezy, when I had a lot of tabs open and had been browsing for a while.

It seems to have cleared up with the latest dev build (19.0).
Image

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:40 pm

Have installed, will let you know,

Cheers

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby craigevil » Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:18 pm

No issues with the stable Chrome release.


$ apt-cache policy google-chrome-stable
google-chrome-stable:
Installed: 17.0.963.56-r121963
Candidate: 17.0.963.56-r121963
Version table:
*** 17.0.963.56-r121963 0
500 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby mockturtl » Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:49 pm

I don't think it will matter, but when I said "wheezy" up there, I meant UP3.
Image

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:19 am

It is was working fine. Upgrade to the new stable 17.nn.nnn.nn, that is when my machine really started to lock up, high disk usage, totally unusable, couldn't do anything. Dropped back to 16.0.912.75, recreated the hidden folder in my ~/home. Ran a bit better, but still locks up.

So far the unstable 19.0.1041.0 dev has only locked up once.

Firefox is fine, it was my browser of choice until early 2009, but I am so used to chrome/chromium based browsers, I was shocked how much I didn't like it anymore! I have become a Google borg :(
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
mockturtl
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:51 pm

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby mockturtl » Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:38 pm

If your desktop's not completely frozen, shift+esc will bring up Chrome's task manager, so you can see if a particular tab or extension (process) is chewing up your resources.
Image

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:15 pm

Cheers, but the machine is totally unusable when it happens. New problem with the dev build, if the screensaver kicks in, chrome goes full screen and the only way to get out of it is to kill it (F11 does not work).

Don't know if this is cinnamon related, will boot into Gnome3 later on to test.

Steve
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

JustinGordon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:36 am

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby JustinGordon » Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:23 am

xircon wrote:Cheers, but the machine is totally unusable when it happens. New problem with the dev build, if the screensaver kicks in, chrome goes full screen and the only way to get out of it is to kill it (F11 does not work).
Don't know if this is cinnamon related, will boot into Gnome3 later on to test.
Steve

Probably not cinnamon related as I'm seeing this with the default Gnome 3. Very annoying. Only way I can get out of it is to close all tabs on the maximized window. You can't even detach the tabs.

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:37 am

Grrrrr now firefox is playing up. Cannot scroll pages. Oh well Opera then.

Edit - Dropped back to FF11, working again, but sometimes pages are not displaying, will grab a screenshot when it happens again, because the page is "there" just not displaying - weird.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:25 am

Potential fix from the Debian forum (don't know how I missed this - doh, but have been working a lot of shifts :():
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... me#p433871

Which references:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthr ... =libcairo2

Downgrade libcairo2 - Working well at the moment, I have rejoined the Google Borg.
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"

craigevil
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 554
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 6:10 am
Location: down the rabbit hole
Contact:

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby craigevil » Tue Jun 19, 2012 8:41 pm

$ apt-cache policy libcairo2
libcairo2:
Installed: 1.12.2-2
Candidate: 1.12.2-2

apt-cache policy google-chrome-stable
google-chrome-stable:
Installed: 19.0.1084.56-r140965
Candidate: 19.0.1084.56-r140965
Version table:
*** 19.0.1084.56-r140965 0
500 http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome_testing/deb/ stable/main i386 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

No issues with Chrome or Firefox.
Host: debian Kernel: 3.4-trunk-486 i686 (32 bit) Desktop: KDE 4.8.3 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux wheezy/sid
Debian Sid KDE4.8.4 Kernel 3.4 Thinkpad R40 CPU Pentium M 1.3MHz RAM 2GB ATI Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

User avatar
xircon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:59 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Problems with Chrome/Chromium/Iron

Postby xircon » Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:14 am

Think it only affects 64bit systems?
Dell Inspiron N5010 / Core I5 / ATI Mobility Radeon HD5400, LMDE Tracking Sid & Cinnamon Desktop
"Ubuntu is an African word meaning 'I can't configure Debian'"


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest