Making VIM working totally

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
newbie_noob
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:25 pm

Making VIM working totally

Postby newbie_noob » Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:07 pm

Hi, how can I get VIM to work totally?

- there is no vimtuto
- VIM does NOT start VIM, but VI starts VIM
- there is no indicator on the bottom of the screen to indicate me if I am into insert mode or command mode

Those things work per default with KDE desktop, why aren't they with LMDE (gnome) ?

newbie_noob
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Making VIM working totally

Postby newbie_noob » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:45 pm

Can it be moved to the "software and application" subforum of LMDE please
Thanx a lot.

newbie_noob
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Making VIM working totally

Postby newbie_noob » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:55 pm

BTW, I don't know if this is KDE-dependant or ubuntu-dependant

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Making VIM working totally

Postby Monsta » Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:43 am

I suspect you have vim-tiny installed instead of vim. If you haven't touched vim since the system installation, that might be true.

User avatar
KittyKatt
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Making VIM working totally

Postby KittyKatt » Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:26 am

Moved here by moderator.

chipbuster
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:34 am

Re: Making VIM working totally

Postby chipbuster » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:51 pm

I suspect you might have just Vi installed--which is why vi works, but vim doesn't.

Vi is really really similar to vim in appearances if you don't set text highlighting, so its pretty easy to be confused.

Try a sudo apt-get install vim and see if it grabs it for you.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests