Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Archived topics about LMDE 1
Forum rules
Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage » Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:50 am

hello every body,can someone help me how to install compiz effect or enable in my nvidia gt240 and i am sorry that i did a new post because i did not fully understand this post viewtopic.php?f=141&t=55165

i am newbie to lmde but it's faster than ubuntu

sorry for my bad English
thank you

User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1974
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 » Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:03 am

hello

open a terminal

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge xserver-xorg-video-nouveau xserver-xorg-video-nv


then

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx

then

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg


then either reboot or press alt ctrl and Backspace.

see if that works
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.

Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage » Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:20 am

thanks for the reply but didn't work :(

User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1974
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 » Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:23 am

this post relates to you situation take a look at this

viewtopic.php?f=59&p=349939
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.

Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage » Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:55 am

thank you everybody,i installed the driver but still have the problem.when i click on any affect at compizconfig nothing happen why???

User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1974
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 » Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:58 am

take a look at the bottom of this post this might help I am still looking 8)
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.

Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage » Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:11 pm

thanks bro ,please if you find something ,tell me step by step tell now when i type inxi -G
Graphics: Card nVidia GT215 [GeForce GT 240] tty res: 80x24 Gfx Data: N/A for root user

User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1974
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 » Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:18 pm

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=55165

viewtopic.php?f=141&t=58998&start=0


Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge nvidia*
sudo apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-video-intel libgl1-mesa-glx libgl1-mesa-dri xserver-xorg-core
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
compiz --replace  &


look at this
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.

User avatar
twa
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 8:11 am
Location: Somewhere in the sky

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby twa » Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:25 pm

djgage,
first try to follow this procedure and install the nVIDIA drivers
viewtopic.php?f=141&t=62340
if/when OK will tell U re compiz..
pls post
When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread.

Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage » Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:50 pm

still the problem is present! i did everything in the post above .i think driver or 3d is working but the problem in compiz i think but i still cant understand because i am newbie :(

omer@omerpc ~ $ glxinfo | grep render
direct rendering: Yes
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 240/PCI/SSE2
GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color, GL_NV_copy_image,
GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_NVX_gpu_memory_info,
omer@omerpc ~ $

User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1974
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 » Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:59 pm

viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56009&p=320518&hilit=fusion+icon#p320518

this one might be of Interest to you read this.
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.

Djgage
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:39 am

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby Djgage » Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:36 pm

thank you so much man ,fusion-icon is the best :D:D:D:D

User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1974
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: Please Help me to install compiz in my GT240 Nvidia

Postby willie42 » Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:41 pm

Djgage wrote:thank you so much man ,fusion-icon is the best :D:D:D:D



you are very welcome please put solved in the subject line

And


Have A Very Merry Christmas :D :P :mrgreen:
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests